Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Sid Meier's Civilization: The Board Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Biology & Mathematics in a battle rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Von Zinzendorf
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
1) Biology

Is it possible to heal units, which are killed? For example: Infantry unit, with 3 strength goes front against another infantry unit with 3 strength -> They kill each other. Is it now possible to use Biology (or animal husbandry) to heal this unit fully? Why?

2) Mathematics

Is it possible to use it's battle ability (While involved in a battle, deal up to 3 wounds, spread across enemy units however you choose) after your all units are dead?

An example: Player A has left an artillery unit with 3 strength. Player B has left 3 unit cards, and plays a mounted unit with 3 strength, killing Player A's last unit. Can Player A now use his Mathematics tech card's battle ability to kill Player B's mounted unit? Why?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Justin B
United States
flag msg tools
Stats not guaranteed accurate. May be made up entirely.
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1) No, the unit(s) is(are) killed before either player has a chance to heal. Only units which receive wound tokens are eligible for healing.

2) Yes, you do not need "presence" in the battle to use Mathematics. You only need iron and to have not used the ability previously within the same turn. Note that you can wait until all units are played to use Mathematics or Ballistics. If you use both, the other player will have an opportunity to use Animal Husbandry or Biology in between.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jan Siwanowicz
United States
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Are you sure the player will have the opportunity to heal if both are used? It was my understanding that the combat turn follows for each player:

PLAYER 1
-use abilities
-play unit
-use abilities

PLAYER 2
-use abilities
-play unit
-use abilities

PLAYER 1
-use abilities
-play unit
-use abilities

etc

So if one player decides to use Math+Ball the other player will not have a chance to respond until both have been resolved.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel Hammond
United States
League City
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
JanSiwanowicz wrote:

So if one player decides to use Math+Ball the other player will not have a chance to respond until both have been resolved.


This is true. You can use as many abilities as you want when it is your turn to act before or after you play a unit (if you have units left to play). Obviously within the restriction of resource abilities are always once per turn and healing abilities are once per battle.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Von Zinzendorf
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
dlhammond wrote:
JanSiwanowicz wrote:

So if one player decides to use Math+Ball the other player will not have a chance to respond until both have been resolved.


This is true. You can use as many abilities as you want when it is your turn to act before or after you play a unit (if you have units left to play). Obviously within the restriction of resource abilities are always once per turn and healing abilities are once per battle.


If recource abilities are once per turn:
Does that mean that if you use a recource ability on City management phase, you can't use one in a battle? And does that mean that you can't use both Metalworking and Mathematics in a same battle?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel Hammond
United States
League City
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
VonZ wrote:
dlhammond wrote:
JanSiwanowicz wrote:

So if one player decides to use Math+Ball the other player will not have a chance to respond until both have been resolved.


This is true. You can use as many abilities as you want when it is your turn to act before or after you play a unit (if you have units left to play). Obviously within the restriction of resource abilities are always once per turn and healing abilities are once per battle.


If recource abilities are once per turn:
Does that mean that if you use a recource ability on City management phase, you can't use one in a battle? And does that mean that you can't use both Metalworking and Mathematics in a same battle?



It means you can't use Metalworking twice in 1 turn (even in separate battles or even once in your movement/battle phase and again in someone elses movement/battle phase). You can't use it in city management (building a unit on an enemy) and movement.

But with Atomic Power, it has 2 different resource abilities, EACH can be used once per turn (should you be so lucky).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.