Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

The Guns of August» Forums » Rules

Subject: Naval Module - sea supply rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
fangotango
Canada
Halifax
Nova Scotia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The sea supply rules in the Naval Module seem to be completely garbled.

38.7 Sea Supply
a. Each country that has a fleet also has an amphibious invasion capability of three corps and sea supply capability except Russia, Turkey, and Austria which have no sea supply or amphibious capability. The British and U.S. have twice the capability of the others. U.S. and British Corps in France do not count against their respective nation‟s 12 corps supply capacity. Finally, no country‟s unit can be supplied by another country‟s supply source. The Germans can only use their capability outside the Mediterranean. The Italians can only use their capability inside the Mediterranean.


The supply capability is not specified, but one suspects that it is meant to be the same value as the invasion capability. On the other hand, the figure referred to for the British and United States is twelve, although the way the sentence is worded is so clumsy that one wonders if the twelve refers to the combined British/US total, or that each of those two countries gets a supply capability of twelve corps. I suspect the former, but it is mainly based on my assumption that the normal sea supply was meant to be three per nation (doubled for US and Britain).

c. Sea supply is limited by two factors. The first is the country‟s sea supply capacity. The second factor is the port‟s capacity to supply corps inland. All objective cities can support 24 corps. A beachhead can support six corps. Citinje and Durazzo on the Adriatic Sea can only support three corps each.

The "port" capacity given for regular ports is not given, only for objective ports. Further, the limit of 24 for objective ports seems like no limit at all, as it outstrips the supply capacity of either side, unless one accepts that Britain and the US get 12 each, but even then....
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Popejoy
United States
Potomac Falls
Virginia
flag msg tools
GWX Dev Team
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
fangotango wrote:
The sea supply rules in the Naval Module seem to be completely garbled.

38.7 Sea Supply
a. Each country that has a fleet also has an amphibious invasion capability of three corps and sea supply capability except Russia, Turkey, and Austria which have no sea supply or amphibious capability. The British and U.S. have twice the capability of the others. U.S. and British Corps in France do not count against their respective nation‟s 12 corps supply capacity. Finally, no country‟s unit can be supplied by another country‟s supply source. The Germans can only use their capability outside the Mediterranean. The Italians can only use their capability inside the Mediterranean.


The supply capability is not specified, but one suspects that it is meant to be the same value as the invasion capability. On the other hand, the figure referred to for the British and United States is twelve, although the way the sentence is worded is so clumsy that one wonders if the twelve refers to the combined British/US total, or that each of those two countries gets a supply capability of twelve corps. I suspect the former, but it is mainly based on my assumption that the normal sea supply was meant to be three per nation (doubled for US and Britain).

Oops! You caught a typo in the Augmented Rules. The original Second Edition Optional Rules (7.a) state (as should the Augmented Rules),

"Each country that has a fleet also has an amphibious invasion capacity of three corps and sea supply capability of six corps except Russia...."

Thanks for finding that!

Quote:
c. Sea supply is limited by two factors. The first is the country‟s sea supply capacity. The second factor is the port‟s capacity to supply corps inland. All objective cities can support 24 corps. A beachhead can support six corps. Citinje and Durazzo on the Adriatic Sea can only support three corps each.

The "port" capacity given for regular ports is not given, only for objective ports. Further, the limit of 24 for objective ports seems like no limit at all, as it outstrips the supply capacity of either side, unless one accepts that Britain and the US get 12 each, but even then....

Ack! This must have been a bad day. surprise

The original Second Edition Optional Rules (7.c) state (as should the Augmented Rules),

"All objective cities can support 24 corps. All other cities can support 12 corps. A beachhead can support six corps...."

Thanks again for pointing that out.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
fangotango
Canada
Halifax
Nova Scotia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm very glad that's been cleared up for us! Thanks again.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.