Recommend
5 
 Thumb up
 Hide
16 Posts

Kaispeicher» Forums » Rules

Subject: Reserve card clarifications rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Remus Rhymus
United States
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
I think that this situation absolutely requires
badge
a really futile and stupid gesture be done on somebody's part!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
From reading the Demand Phase rules, it seems that:

1. Reserving a card is optional
2. Each player may only reserve up to 1 card per round
3. If a player does not reserve a card, then that player can use all 4 meeples in the regular Speicherstadt building (dutch auction) spaces.

Can someone please confirm that my understanding is accurate?

Thanks!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joel Eddy
United States
Coeur d'Alene
ID
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
remus wrote:
From reading the Demand Phase rules, it seems that:

1. Reserving a card is optional
2. Each player may only reserve up to 1 card per round
3. If a player does not reserve a card, then that player can use all 4 meeples in the regular Speicherstadt building (dutch auction) spaces.

Can someone please confirm that my understanding is accurate?

Thanks!


Hmm. I don't have the rules in front of me, but I think they are all accurate except #3. #3 may also be accurate though. I'm not sure if the rules didn't mention it specifically, but maybe it infers it?

-edit-

Just re-downloaded and read the rules. I think all three statements are true.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Remus Rhymus
United States
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
I think that this situation absolutely requires
badge
a really futile and stupid gesture be done on somebody's part!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks Joel. It never explicitly states that, but I'm glad to hear you agree with my interpretation. I'm hoping someone in the know (playtester/publisher/designer) can confirm.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Evgeni Liakhovich
United States
Beaverton
Oregon
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
remus wrote:
From reading the Demand Phase rules, it seems that:

1. Reserving a card is optional
2. Each player may only reserve up to 1 card per round
3. If a player does not reserve a card, then that player can use all 4 meeples in the regular Speicherstadt building (dutch auction) spaces.

Can someone please confirm that my understanding is accurate?

Thanks!


I think 2 is wrong, 1 and 3 are correct. See also:

http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/771263/scalability-issue

We played it this way yesterday and I feel that's the right way.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joel Eddy
United States
Coeur d'Alene
ID
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Glad8r wrote:
remus wrote:
From reading the Demand Phase rules, it seems that:

1. Reserving a card is optional
2. Each player may only reserve up to 1 card per round
3. If a player does not reserve a card, then that player can use all 4 meeples in the regular Speicherstadt building (dutch auction) spaces.

Can someone please confirm that my understanding is accurate?

Thanks!


I think 2 is wrong, 1 and 3 are correct. See also:

http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/771263/scalability-issue

We played it this way yesterday and I feel that's the right way.


Yep. Re-reading the rules, that makes sense.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Remus Rhymus
United States
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
I think that this situation absolutely requires
badge
a really futile and stupid gesture be done on somebody's part!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks. Rereading the rules, I suppose you're correct. When it said "But you now have the option of reserving a card of your choice from the row above the board" (my emphasis) - I took that to mean only one card per round, but it could also be interpreted as one card per turn within the round.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carsten ◄► Wesel
Germany
Pinneberg-Quellental
Germany
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Glad8r wrote:
remus wrote:
From reading the Demand Phase rules, it seems that:

1. Reserving a card is optional
2. Each player may only reserve up to 1 card per round
3. If a player does not reserve a card, then that player can use all 4 meeples in the regular Speicherstadt building (dutch auction) spaces.

Can someone please confirm that my understanding is accurate?

Thanks!


I think 2 is wrong, 1 and 3 are correct. See also:

http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/771263/scalability-issue

We played it this way yesterday and I feel that's the right way.


And this was also the rule, when Peter from Eggertspiele told us the rules, 1 day after the expansion was released.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Remus Rhymus
United States
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
I think that this situation absolutely requires
badge
a really futile and stupid gesture be done on somebody's part!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ceryon wrote:
Glad8r wrote:
remus wrote:
From reading the Demand Phase rules, it seems that:

1. Reserving a card is optional
2. Each player may only reserve up to 1 card per round
3. If a player does not reserve a card, then that player can use all 4 meeples in the regular Speicherstadt building (dutch auction) spaces.

Can someone please confirm that my understanding is accurate?

Thanks!


I think 2 is wrong, 1 and 3 are correct. See also:

http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/771263/scalability-issue

We played it this way yesterday and I feel that's the right way.


And this was also the rule, when Peter from Eggertspiele told us the rules, 1 day after the expansion was released.


Great, thank you!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Roger Howell
United States
Lenexa
Kansas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Can someone sum this up, is it only one reserved card allowed per round per player?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joel Eddy
United States
Coeur d'Alene
ID
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
rogerramjet3361 wrote:
Can someone sum this up, is it only one reserved card allowed per round per player?


Nope. As many as you want.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Remus Rhymus
United States
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
I think that this situation absolutely requires
badge
a really futile and stupid gesture be done on somebody's part!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Right, essentially they're your workers to do as you please with. Can reserve 0 - 4 cards.

I played this at lunch yesterday for the first time. Outstanding! I rated Speicherstadt a 9 and Kaispeicher is a solid 10 for me. My only current 10. Looking forward to playing this again this weekend.
4 
 Thumb up
0.25
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Roger Howell
United States
Lenexa
Kansas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the clarification! I can't wait to play this, unfortunately I have to wait for the weekend. cry
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
William Bussick
United States
Reno
Nevada
flag msg tools
badge
You want to know something? I don't think Mozart's going to help at all.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
To get even further clarification...

1) On your turn, do you have to put a worker on a building space before you reserve a card? (The rules slightly imply this by saying, "But now you also have the option..." in the sentence after it talks about placing a worker on a building.)
2) On your first turn, can you reserve 4 cards (if there are 4 available)?

Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Evgeni Liakhovich
United States
Beaverton
Oregon
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1) Before or after, doesn't matter
2) No, you can only reserve 1 card as you place only 1 worker at a time
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
William Bussick
United States
Reno
Nevada
flag msg tools
badge
You want to know something? I don't think Mozart's going to help at all.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks! Posting a player aid now.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Duff
Canada
Ottawa
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hang on, that's wrong. You don't get to reserve a card on the same turn that you place a worker on a building.

It's either/or. You place one single worker on your turn, either on a building, or on a card that you're reserving. Then it's the next player's turn. It takes four complete go arounds before you've placed your 4 meeples.

The wording "Now you also have the option of reserving a card" is just contrasting the expansion with the base game, explaining that now you have two options where to place your meeple on your turn.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.