Recommend
4 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Russian Front» Forums » Rules

Subject: exploitation phase rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Al Ghani
msg tools
Exploitation question: if movement must cease if the non-phasing player does a response move in exploitation phase, how do you get your armoured units deep into the enemy rear. Is it done through stacking multiple armoured units together and then when a response move is made one armoured unit deals with the combat and the rest move onward. Any help
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
José San Miguel
Spain
Valencia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The actual rule is a bit different:

Quote:
8.3: The units move normally, exactly as during the Ground
Movement Step, using their full movement factors except that
they may not convert railroad hexes or have combats. They may
not enter a hex containing an enemy ground unit, and may not
make any move that could cause a response movement
.
(EXCEPTION: A unit making no other movements may always
advance into one new hex containing no enemy ground unit and
then stop, even if this move could normally cause a response
movement, in this case, it does not cause a response movement).


What you need is use blitz movement and make a big gap in the Russian line before the explotation phase, so your armor units can move without causing response movement. Of course, the Russian player will try to counter this forming a second line behind the first one.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Gant
United States
Wakefield
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It is commonly stated this is a game of gaps. Leave one hex without a unit and the Germans can walk through your line. Here is how:

Say the Soviet line is north to south. At one point across three hexes 1, 2, and 3 the Soviet has units in hexes 1 and 3. Hex 2 is open. The Germans want to go through hex 2, deep and to the rear of the Soviet line. Moving a Panzer through hex 2 in any phase can trigger a response from either hex 1 or 3. Instead, move infantry to attack both hex 1 and hex 3. Now the road is open and the Panzers can pour through hex 2.

Say all three hexes have one Soviet unit. As was just stated, use the blitz marker at a weak point to break through the line.

The Soviet counters by using a double line and ensuring the optional no retreat rule is in play.

Happy gaming,

--JokerRulez
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Gant
United States
Wakefield
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
For more on what the Soviets can do to nullify the Axis blitz attacks check out my After Action Report over on ConsimWorld:

http://talk.consimworld.com/WebX/.1dd3b388/WebX?14@@.1dd3b38...

That Table of Contents page will guide you to the 4 part "Theory of Soviet Defenses" I created, along with a lot of other content some have found useful and informative.

Happy gaming all,

--JokerRulez

PS If you read all 4 parts of the "Theory of Soviet Defenses" you will get a good understanding of Axis capability.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Panagiotis Kouroumidis
Greece
flag msg tools
dgoldingski wrote:
Exploitation question: if movement must cease if the non-phasing player does a response move in exploitation phase, how do you get your armoured units deep into the enemy rear. Is it done through stacking multiple armoured units together and then when a response move is made one armoured unit deals with the combat and the rest move onward. Any help


There is not response movement in exploitation phase:
8.3: The units move normally, exactly as during the Ground
Movement Step, using their full movement factors except that
they may not convert railroad hexes or have combats. They may
not enter a hex containing an enemy ground unit, and may not
make any move that could cause a response movement
.
(EXCEPTION: A unit making no other movements may always
advance into one new hex containing no enemy ground unit and
then stop, even if this move could normally cause a response
movement, in this case, it does not cause a response movement).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.