Popular Tags: [View All]
Andrew Rowse
New Zealand
Wellington
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
So here's the situation, and the plan...

I'm going to run in the London 10k later this year with a group of people from my company, on behalf of Special Effect (a charity that raises funds to help disabled kids enjoy video games - we make videogames, so it's a charity close to our hearts). We're all expected to raise a certain amount of money for the charity, and I'm not good at asking people for money, so I decided to try to raise the money by publishing a card game instead.

Kickstarter is still effectively US-only, so Indiegogo seems to be the next best choice.

It will be a 54-card game about running. Running away from zombies.

I figure that I can give away a pdf version at US$5, and a physical copy for around the $13-15 mark, shipped anywhere. That's with printing via printerstudio (or Panda if orders pass around 1500), and a reasonable sum (all the profits) going to the charity.

Based on this, does anybody have any advice? Alternative printers? Suggestions for higher pledge levels and/or stretch goals?

Any feedback would be most appreciated!
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robin Goodall
United Kingdom
Cambridge
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Firstly, well done, excellent idea.

KAndrw wrote:
... and a physical copy for around the $13-15 mark, shipped anywhere.

Is this going to actually cover P&P? This is less than what most kickstarter projects charge for international shipping alone excluding the game. You don't want to be losing money on delivery, I'd get quotes for UK, EU, US, RotW, and make sure your funding levels cover that.

Anyway, as long as the graphics aren't too gruesome for my boys (one with a disability), consider my pledge on the way. Actually, I'll pledge anyway and play it with my brothers
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
chearns
Canada
Montréal
Québec
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb