Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
15 Posts

Dominion» Forums » Rules

Subject: Action and Pick Up Limit? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Tony Biggs
msg tools
Hi Everyone,

Fairly new to the game and have only played a few games so far. I was playing with a few friends when we had one fellow get caught in an endless cycle using Smithy, Market and Village to get endless actions and card pick ups. Eventually he ended up with a bunch of copper from the Market to buy all the Provences and win the game.

We went through the rules again and did not see any limit on how many actions or cards could be picked up during one turn and was hoping there is something we are missing.

We were playing the First Game recommended supplies in the rule book.

Thanks.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt E
United States
Minnesota
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Could you define 'pick up'? That's not a term you usually hear when talking about Dominion. Do you mean 'buy', 'gain', 'draw', or something else?
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ricky
United States
New York
flag msg tools
mb
When you play an action, it does not get immediately discarded, so you can't reshuffle it and draw it again during the same turn.
17 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve L

Massachusetts
msg tools
Once played, cards stay on the table in front of you until the end of the turn unless they explicitly state otherwise; they do not immediately go to the discard pile. This rule is stated on page 6 of the Dominion rulebook, at the end of the second paragraph in the section describing the Action phase.

So the first time he played a Smithy card, that Smithy card stays on the table and cannot be played again that turn. If he had another Smithy card in his hand and another action available once he finished following all the instructions on the first Smithy, he could play the second copy. But the first copy's "used" until the end of the turn.

7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Trevor Schadt
United States
Glenshaw
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Players get one Action and one Buy to start their turn. The Action that they play may give them extra Actions and/or Extra Buys. There is no "upper limit," except for what cards you have in your deck.

Yes, Smithy, Market and Village are good cards to chain together. However, if you were playing correctly, other players should have built up their engines enough by that point to speed up game end. I suspect you might have overlooked point #3 that I make below.

Some things to remember:
1) Your Action phase must be completed before you start your Buy phase.
2) All cards you Buy go directly into your Discard pile.
3) You can only use a given amount of money once. For example, if you have 8 Coins available to you, you may only buy one Province, no matter how many Buys you have. If you have 8 Coins and 2 Buys, you may Buy one card that costs 5 and one that costs 3.
4) Action cards do not get discarded until the end of your turn.
5) You cannot "save" Actions or Buys from one turn to another.
6) All cards in your hand go into your Discard pile.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tilou
France
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmb
If you're saying that he bought 12 provinces in one turn with markets and coppers, you were playing wrong.
It's one action and one buy per turn. Playing cards modifiy this basic rule. And you get to buy card(s) only after you played (all) your action(s) and the bought card(s) go to your discard.
I would advise you to reread the rules.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Lieffring
United States
Athens
Georgia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
The limit on the number of actions you can play is (let's ignore Throne Room for a minute) the number of physical action cards you have. In order to get an "endless cycle" he must have been drawing and playing the same cards over and over again, which isn't possible. When you play a card, it's put into play and stays there until you put it into your discard pile in your Cleanup phase. To some people it seems harmless to play directly to the discard pile, since the cards are going to end up there anyway, but you've already discovered the harm it can cause! You also shouldn't shuffle your deck until precisely when you need a card from it and there's nothing there, take your turn out of order because it's just a hand full of money, or cut any other corners in general.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Yaron Racah
Israel
Tel Aviv
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
In addition to the point made above (each action card will only be played once per turn), note that Markets don't actually give you Copper. They just add 1 to the total amount of money you have available in the buy phase.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pere
Spain
La Nucia
Alicante
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Also, +1 Buy means you can buy an additional card this turn, but only if you have enough money.

8 money and 3 buys does not equal 3 provinces. 24 money and 3 buys do.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tony Biggs
msg tools
You guys are awesome, and thanks for the quick responses.

Our mistake was allowing the player to put the action cards already played and completed into the discard pile and continue to reshuffle it back into the deck if they required a draw (pick up in our terms). Hence the endless loop this player was doing.

Heck we played the interaction one and he did a similar combo, although not as bad, with the Festival and Moat cards.

Thanks for clearing this up!

5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Josh Kaufman
United States
West Hills
California
flag msg tools
If there are cards out there than give extra actions and allow you to draw cards, that is a great way to cycle through your deck and allow you to do a lot and get a great engine going. Nobles happens to be one of my favorite cards because not only do you get 2 points for the cards, but you have flexibility to get either actions or cards, depending on what else is out there. But yeah, if there is an opportunity to shuffle through your deck like that, you should probably take advantage of it. Action cards like villages, shanty towns, mining villages and festivals combined with draw cards like Council Rooms, Smithies, and even Moats are awesome. Plus Nobles can offset whatever you are lacking, as I said.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Costello
msg tools
Zanathan wrote:

Our mistake was allowing the player to put the action cards already played and completed into the discard pile and continue to reshuffle it back into the deck if they required a draw (pick up in our terms). Hence the endless loop this player was doing.


Someone already mentioned it as another possible rules mistake, but wanted to clarify that in addition to not immediately discarding played cards, cards like market don't "produce copper" or anything like that. They just provide 1 coin for THAT buy phase.

The reason I'm suspicious about this is that if you were discarding your markets before allowing an infinite loop of drawing, how on earth were you keeping track of how much money/buys/actions the player had accumulated without the markets sitting there in front of you to count up? If you're mentally tracking 50-60 coins and 8+ buys, or even writing it down with paper+pencil, that sort of things should be a red flag that you might be doing it wrong.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dennison Milenkaya
United States
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Games with infinite loop combos are stupid. There! I said it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andy Mills
United States
Los Angeles
CA
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Good thing Dominion isn't one of those games.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dennison Milenkaya
United States
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Ah yes. Naturally, I like Dominion. Perhaps I should've said:

Dominion doesn't have infinite loops. Games with infinite loop combos are stupid.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.