Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

The Lord of the Rings: The Card Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: playing an action during combat (wolves of mordor) rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Matthias Segers
Belgium
Brecht
Antwerpen
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
This came up during Massing at Osgiliath:

Wolves of Mordor attack my Westfold Horse-Breaker. The Wolves have: Forced: after they attack and destroy a character, shuffle them into the encounter deck.

My Westfold Horse-Breaker has: Action: Discard him to choose and ready a hero.

My questions:
What if I block with Westfold Horse-Breaker, and play his action? Does the attack become undefended? Is he still considered 'destroyed'?

Mainly, is there a way for me to have Westfold Horse-Breaker soak up the damage, still play his action, and prevent the Wolves from getting reshuffled into the encounter deck?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mr. D
United States
Oneonta
New York
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
If you use Horse-Breaker's ability before the Wolves deal their damage, then the attack is undefended. He would not be considered 'destroyed'.

So, no, you cannot do what you are trying to.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthias Segers
Belgium
Brecht
Antwerpen
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Thanks, I was afraid that would be the answer... I guess I'm too used to Magic and it's "stack" system of playing and reacting to stuff.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Howard
United States
Marina del Rey
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Tubarush is correct, you cannot have Westfold Horse-Breaker soak up the damage and then discard him using his ability. However, you can declare him as a defender, and then resolve the enemy's shadow card. THEN you can discard WestfoldHorse-Breaker using his ability if you wish. The attack will be undefended at this point, and damage would be applied to a Hero, but you could at least mitigate the effect of the shadow card!
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.