Bay of Plenty
For the 1 matchup card that you can use: does it have to be in the matchup where you committed a player that turn? Does it clarify this in the rules anywhere? We couldn't find it in the rules, so we just played with that limitation since it made sense.
To clarify, on page 8 heading: Matchup Phase:
Each manager performs the following steps during his turn:
1. Commit one player to matchup: The manager takes one player card from his hand and places it faceup next to the matchup. He then resolves the player's card as follows:
* Resolve When played abilities: The manager resolves "when played" abilities on the player card
* Use Skills: The manager uses the player's skills in order from left to right.
2. Resolve one matchup action (optional): The manager may exhaust one Staff Upgrade card or Team Upgrade card in his play area and apply the card's text
The way that we have played it is that you may use that matchup card on the matchup that you are committing that player to for that phase.
Hope this helps
Such a great little game