Popular Tags: [View All]
Salim Khoury
United States
Houston
TX
flag msg tools
Give Grace, Always.
badge
Whatever the mind of man can conceive and believe, it can achieve.
mbmbmbmbmb
So I need people to make the case for me to invest in Combat Commander: Pacific rather than one of the Richard Borg variants (C&C: A, C&C: N, M44).

I thought I found the holy grail last week when I discovered M44 (sorry I'm a newbie, cut me some slack), but after some digging around it became obvious it was not so simple a decision. Discovering CC: P was ranked much higher on the War Games ranking I now feel compelled to return all my unopened M44 expansions and invest in CC: P.

What's the deal? Why is it so much better than a Richard Borg system of games?

Are they that different?

It seems CC: P only comes with static maps as opposed to rearrangeable hexes (which at first thought seems like a negative).

HELP!?!?!

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Bishop
United Kingdom
Lytham St. Annes
Lancashire
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Stick with M44 as an easier route into wargaming.

Then when you find its not 'meaty' enough trade it away on ebay (fetches a decent price - certainly in the UK) and decide then which of the many tactical WW2 games you want to invest in.

This will give you time to explore the more complicated options and there are tons of threads that will give you comparisons between them all.

As you can tell from my avatar I'm particularly partial to a certain series of games but in the end it's down to your own preferences and we are very lucky to have so many great games to choose from.

Good luck and enjoy the journey.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Darren M
Canada
Fort Vermilion
AB
flag msg tools
badge
mb
Absolutely nothing wrong with starting out with M'44. It's a great gaming system. I've owned M'44 + expansions, C&C, BattleLore and Battle Cry and they are all great games.