Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Carson City» Forums » Rules

Subject: Great game - 2 questions though rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Marc
Belgium
Antwerp
flag msg tools
Yesterday we played our first game of Carson City and I immediately loved it.

I have a couple of questions though:

- When calculating the income a certain building generates and it's dependant on houses, does a hotel count for two houses?

- When looking at the min/max income of buildings, how does this work? Say for example, I have a ranch with no free tiles around it, but the lowest number on the ranch is 4 (just saying, dunno for sure) and the highest is 7, does this building always generate 4 dollar?

Thanks in advance!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tony Hamen
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Music sucks now....
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1) Yes, that is the whole point of the hotel! You wouldn't want just 6 dollars income would you? The tourists staying there want to get drunk at the saloon!

2) If the income of a building is < the minimum use the minimum income. If the income is > the max income on a tile, use the maximum. For instance with the ranch: The income on the tile is 1-8. You will get 1 dollar if every space or if every space but 1 is filled on the spaces around it. For instance with the drugstore: Say that every building surrounding the drugstore is a ranch that you own. If income was unlimited you would be getting 16*3=48 dollars. However, the maximum amount you can get is 21 dollars with a drugstore, so you would just get 21 dollars.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris
United States
Georgia
flag msg tools
badge
...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Reucht wrote:
- When calculating the income a certain building generates and it's dependant on houses, does a hotel count for two houses?

Yes. This is in addition to generating $6 directly each round.

Reucht wrote:
- When looking at the min/max income of buildings, how does this work? Say for example, I have a ranch with no free tiles around it, but the lowest number on the ranch is 4 (just saying, dunno for sure) and the highest is 7, does this building always generate 4 dollar?

Note that the building tiles are two-sided, so the range in income for the ranch, for example, is $1 - $8. In this case, the minimum income is $1 (even if all parcels around it are occupied). For other buildings, it's possible that the calculated income is more than the maximum shown on the tile. In such a case (such as a saloon surrounded by hotels and houses), the income is limited to the maximum shown on the tile.

EDIT: ninja'd.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marc
Belgium
Antwerp
flag msg tools
Thanks a lot guys! I presumed it was like that, but in cases like these, you just wanna be sure :)

Thanks a lot!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.