Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

The Manhattan Project» Forums » Rules

Subject: Taking building cards & new workers question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
boardgamemuse
United States
North Carolina
flag msg tools
Avatar
mb
1. When do you take the building cards and put them on your player board?
Is this done in the retrieving workers phase?

I ask because the rules seem to indicate that when you use the construction space for building a building that the building is immediately placed on the player board at that time.

Also, it would not seem to make much sense if when you place workers you immediately place the building on your player board (otherwise why even place that worker to begin with?)


2. When you are placing workers and you get more workers from either a building card output or the university board spaces are the workers immediately available for use or do you have to wait until the next placing workers phase?



I apologize if these have been covered elsewhere... Thanks
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
★★★★☆
Canada
New Brunswick
flag msg tools
You don't study scaring, you just do it.
badge
I'm not even breaking a sweat.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I understand that you place the building and take the workers immediately.

as the rulebook lists turn order like this:

Quote:
Step 1: You may place one Worker on the Main
Board, then

Step 2: You may place Workers on any number
of Buildings on your Player Board. You may repeat
this step as many times as you wish, until you run
out of Workers or Buildings to place them on.


I infer that you could then use those buildings or workers.

2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rik Van Horn
United States
Livonia
New York
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The main board action MUST be done first, so you do place your building on your board and it's available for use the same turn.
As are any workers you gain from main board action or building actions.

At least that's the way we've been playing it.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
boardgamemuse
United States
North Carolina
flag msg tools
Avatar
mb
Ok. Then there really is no reason to place a worker on the card unless to verify to the other players that you meet the requirement to take the card right?

Thx
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brandon Tibbetts
United States
Oak Lawn
Illinois
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
pratchettfan777 wrote:
Ok. Then there really is no reason to place a worker on the card unless to verify to the other players that you meet the requirement to take the card right?

Thx

The responses from Travis and Rik are correct. I'm not exactly sure what you are asking with your question. The reason you place workers on a building card is to activate the building (in Step 2). To build a building, you have to place one worker in the construction box on the main board (in Step 1).

It is possible to place a worker in the construction box in Step 1, which results in you acquiring a building, and then place additional workers on the same building in Step 2 in order to activate it.

You don't place workers on the buildings when they are in the market.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
boardgamemuse
United States
North Carolina
flag msg tools
Avatar
mb
schmanthony wrote:
You don't place workers on the buildings when they are in the market.


I get in now thanks!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Jome
United States
Franklin
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mb
Immediately.

And immediately.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.