Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Advanced Squad Leader» Forums » Rules

Subject: Defining Ordnance/Gun/MA (confused about Vehicle MA) rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Matthew Morocco
United States
Los Angeles
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Starting to read up on AFV/chapter D.

All vehicle MA are also considered ordnance if using MA Gun Caliber Size? (reason: due to using To Hit Table)

All vehicle MA are also Guns?
(reason: weapon (MA) is on a 5/8" counter (vehicle) unless MA MG, FT or ATR (reason: D 1.3)

As I read & study Chapter D, more questions will follow soblue

thanks in advance, matt

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martí Cabré

Terrassa
Catalonia, Spain
msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
From the Index:

- Any weapon that fires using the TH procedure is considered ordnance.
- Gun: for firing purposes, any weapon on a 5/8" counter currently firing as ordnance; for non-firing purposes, any non-vehicular weapon on a 5/8" counter.

Remember, the ASL Index is Your Friend.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthew Morocco
United States
Los Angeles
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi Marti:

Thanks for the reply:

"Gun: for firing purposes, any weapon on a 5/8" counter currently firing as ordnance"

So a MA that is firing as ordnance, would also then be considered a Gun?
This is where I'm having the confusion. I understand a 5/8" counter using the To Hit Table is ordnance (MTR,AT,INF, ART,RCL,AA) but since vehicles are also on 5/8" counters does this apply to MA that is ordnance?

Maybe I'm just reading to much into it...

Matt
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martí Cabré

Terrassa
Catalonia, Spain
msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, the ASL rules just say what they say. A vehicular mounted Gun is a Gun.

Read C2.1: The rules that follow are also applicable to vehicular-mounted Guns.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthew Morocco
United States
Los Angeles
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ARghhhh!

I must have read that section (C2.1) FOUR times and missed blush that last sentence.....every...stink'n...time!

Thanks again for the help.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martí Cabré

Terrassa
Catalonia, Spain
msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You're welcome. We've ALL been through this.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.