Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Small World Underground» Forums » General

Subject: Vanishing Liches? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Greg Wilson
United Kingdom
Bristol
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Just curious here.

I've been looking at options for combining SW, SWU and the expansions, and obviously checked out the DoW guidance for doing so. One of the things they suggest is switching out useless or contradictory race/power combos.

(Personally, I think I'd rather split the problem combos between the two base games, so that we don't have to worry about them coming up at all, but that's beside the point.)

Anyway, the section in the FAQ about this reads as follow:

DoW wrote:
Redundant or contradictory combos
If useless combos appear, you may replace their Special Power with another one, drawn at random from the Special Powers stack.
Known useless combos: Frightened Pixies, Immortal Elves, Seafaring Krakens, Tomb Ghouls, Tomb White Ladies, Underworld Spiderines, Vampire Kobolds, Vanishing Ghouls, Vanishing Priestesses, Vanishing White Ladies.


Now, Vanishing White Ladies aren't contradictory. It's just that the Vanishing Power (your token disappear when you go into decline) makes the White Ladies power (your in-decline tokens can't be conquered) useless.

By this same reasoning, wouldn't Vanishing Liches be a redundant combo? Their special ability makes their racial ability worthless. But Vanshing and Liches are from the same game.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Grider
United States
Edmond
Oklahoma
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Yup, similarly Vanishing and Ghouls would be worthless as well.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Greg Wilson
United Kingdom
Bristol
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Vanishing Ghouls are one of the listed 'soft-banned' combos. But with Vanishing and Liches both being from Underground, it seems odd nobody noticed the combo in playtesting.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thiago Leite
Brazil
Campinas / Atibaia
São Paulo
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Vampire kobolds, you convert a single token from active enemie race. them you put a single token from storage and one from your hand... why not?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.