..or for exact word the player deliberately place lava tile to contact his own village. By this way he got action card(s) and taking the "lead" to gain the eruption tile. Based on rules, this seems legal, albeit un-thematic moves. What do you think?
Sounds perfectly fine to me.
However, take into account that the lava damage is dealt at the very beginning of the turn, before a new lava tile is placed. So I guess the benefit of this move would be quite questionable, as he would have to wait another full round.
So it just doesn't matter if it's your, your opponents or a neutral village. You always draw a card for each new lava flow into a village.