Well, it may be a silly question but I couldn´t find any aclaration in the rule book.
Picture this situation for me, please.
An OOS republican column of a defense value of 1 is being attacked by 2 nationalist units with a total attack value of 2. Being as it is, OOS, the republican unit should have a defense value of 0.5 so the nationalist player should roll on the 4:1 table. But, if you round up the defense value up to 1 (so, basically, being OOS would have just a slighty effect (+ 1 for the attacker) on an unit with an attack or defense value of 1) then the nationalist would roll on the 2:1 table.
So, do you round up (or down) the attack or defense values when you divide them by two and you don´t get an exact number?
Thanks for your answers!
We tried to address this right up in the front of the rules, but maybe that is why it was hiding from you :-).
See 1.1: "Note: When halving a number in TSCW, always round 0.5 or higher
up to the next highest integer. No factor can be halved more than once."
It's also covered (slightly better) in 15.11:
"15.11 Minimum Combat Factors
Units with a printed combat factor of “1” or greater can never
have those factors reduced to less than one for any reason. How-
ever, whenever stacked or multi-unit/multi-hex situations arise
wherein combat factor reductions are to be made, total up all the
units’ factors eligible for the same reduction and then make one
overall reduction. For example, three 1-strength units attacking
while OOS would attack with a strength of 3/2 = 2, (1.5 rounded
up), not 1+1+1 = 3 (i.e., 1 strength each divided by 2 equals 0.5,
then rounded up to 1)."
We should make it clearer in 15.6 that you calculate the attack and defense factors first (all rounding), THEN divide to find the odds.
So in the instant case, the odds would be 2:1 with a +1 drm (both from rounding FIRST and from 15.11 explicitly stating that a unit with a value of '1' can never be reduced below '1'.
Thanks a lot. All clear now!