Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

EuroFront II» Forums » Rules

Subject: Defeat/Conquest: when does it take place? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
César
Spain
flag msg tools
Otro mundo es necesario!
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
How is the timing in case of defeat or conquest?

Does it take place at the exact moment that the preconditions are met?

Or does it take place on the politic phase? Provided it happens on the politic phase... Needs to be the active player turn who announces the defeat/conquest? I mean: if I'm playing the allied side and the conditions for a minor (Norway for example) are met, does axis player wait untill his politic phase?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Craig Besinque
Canada
New Denver
BC
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
zaratustro wrote:
How is the timing in case of defeat or conquest?

Does it take place at the exact moment that the preconditions are met?

Or does it take place on the politic phase? Provided it happens on the politic phase... Needs to be the active player turn who announces the defeat/conquest? I mean: if I'm playing the allied side and the conditions for a minor (Norway for example) are met, does axis player wait untill his politic phase?


As per 16.7, Defeat and Conquest can happen in EITHER Politics phase.
Note: Conquest cannot occur until a Politics phase subsequent to Defeat.

Craig
1 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carlos Duro
Spain
Madrid
Madrid
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
16.9: "A minor power is defeated when its capital is enemy-controlled or all national units are eliminated"

When the conditions are fulfilled, is not automatic defeat? Is it necessary to wait to the political phase?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Craig Besinque
Canada
New Denver
BC
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Technically, Defeat does not occur till the Politics phase.
This is not clear enough in the current rules, will address in v1.16.

Craig
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pete Menconi
United States
Arizona
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Page 96, outline of turn phases, Politics Phase lists "Defeat / Conquest".
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alberto Natta
Italy
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmb
Technically the difference is very small.
Let's say that you have to finish your rounds of combat (if you still have mandatory battles before to have the surrender.)

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pete Menconi
United States
Arizona
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Wellll, look at the sequence on page 96: by allowing the Supply Phase to precede Politics/Defeat, you may take advantage of BOTH combat and supply attrition before determining all of the items in Politics. It could make a difference.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.