Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Call of Cthulhu: The Card Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Understanding Khopesh of the Abyss rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mark Wignall
United States
Beaverton
Oregon
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
So am I understanding this card correctly:

•Khopesh of the Abyss
Manifested Malice
Type: Support
Faction: Cthulhu
Cost: 2
Attachment. Relic.
Attach to a character you control. Attached character gains Toughness +1.
After Khopesh of the Abyss leaves play, shuffle it into its owner's deck.
Action: Choose a character. That character and attached character each take 1 wound.


If I were to attach this to a character with Invulnerability, would that character then NOT receive a wound do to it being Invulnerable? Or is it, only "targeting" that prevents Invulnerable, and since it's Attached, it would get the wound?

My take is that it could never receive the wound no matter what, due to the FAQ:

Quote:
Characters with Invulnerability cannot be wounded or chosen to be wounded, or have wound tokens moved or placed on them, regardless of card effects.


Thanks in advance,
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark T
Canada
Nova Scotia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Here is the thread discussing this, page 2 has the official FAQ entry:

http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/698030/khopesh-of-the-ay...

Essentially attaching to Invulnerable is pointless as the whole effect takes place or none of it does.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Wignall
United States
Beaverton
Oregon
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the quick feedback, feel like an idiot now for not RTFF

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Agent 57
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
To sum up for anyone who finds this thread first...

When you have an card text with an ability you attempt to fulfill as much of it as possible. Sometimes the abilities are tied together, sometimes they are dependent in a this must happen in order to do that. This card has three separate abilities, the first is if it leaves play, after it goes to your discard pile you shuffle it back into your deck. With Snow Graves this may not always be possible, but it has no effect on the other effects. The second has you choose a character. This will always be able to be fulfilled, (since the attached character can always be chosen). The third is to wound the chosen and the attached character. This a single effect that attempts to resolve. If something cancels the effect it cancels it completely, if the effect cannot resolve it cannot resolve at all. If either character is invulnerable it may not be wounded in any manner and cannot is an absolute in this game. It forbids you from even trying, so the effect fizzles and will not even be resolved if either character has invulnerability.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
dan mce
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
tl;dr:

Invulnerability characters can never take wounds.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.