Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Risk Legacy: Bonus Cards» Forums » Rules

Subject: Another clarification question (spoilers) rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ryan Smith
United States
Chantilly
Virginia
flag msg tools
Spoiler (click to reveal)
The Nomad card says: "You cannot start in a territory containing a Major City, even if you founded it. All other unoccupied territories, regardless of any marks, are legal starting territories for you."

Does this also include territories adjacent to other players' HQs during initial placement?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stephen Rochelle
United States
Huntsville
Alabama
flag msg tools
✔️✔️❌✔️❌✔️ ➖➖➖➖
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No. The rules define legal starting territories in one place ("unmarked, unoccupied" and "unoccupied, with your Major City") and provide the note about "not next to another HQ" separately. The "not next to another HQ" bit is understood to apply to all definitions of starting locations; having this separate is important because "legal starting location" is still used when re-joining the war (where HQ adjacency does not apply).

Stated more simply -- spaces next to HQs can be legal starting locations, but you can't put your HQ there. They're still legal starting locations if you get KOed and rejoin.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.