Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Rocco Privetera
United States
New York
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm also a beginner, but I can tell you what I've learned so far with my current Pnp Game PRIVATIZE (http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/789104/pnp-wip-privatize-pla...)

My first round I made the components trick to cut out - they were hexes. Redoing the hex layout to something not as efficient but easy to cut out helped.

From what it sounds like, a couple of boards and a few tokens is easy enough to print and play. For me I use Kinkos and print onto cardstock: it's still just pennies a page (well, maybe 50-75 cents a page) and I don't have to worry about toner. Cardstock cuts with scissors easily and shoves around on a table easily.

A PnP game with 300+ cards - say spread over 35+ sheets of paper - is asking a lot to cut out, especially for playtesters.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rocco Privetera
United States
New York
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
I get it. I'm just a firm believer in limitations as a framework.

When I designed Privatize, I was very specific: I want to design a game that used tiles, no more that 2-3 pages of cutout tokens, and 5-6 pages of rules, tops. I've got other games in the queue that are more complex but for a first learning effort i felt this was a good start.

My best advice: design it and print it out and play it. There's a difference between theory and production. The first time I printed something my gamers said "these hexes are too small to pick up at 1/2" on a side" - something not that evident in the paint program.

Same goes for art. I have a different game I'm working on with some nice art, but when the counters were physically placed on the board, they were all swallowed up in the board colors. I never would have deduced that without printing it.

If you have a prototype design, print it out, put a snapshot up here and see what feedback you get.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls