1 , 2  Next »   | 

BoardGameGeek» Forums » Board Game Design » Board Game Design

Subject: Not sure where to start. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Philip ONeil
Australia
flag msg tools
Hi. I'm new here. I hope I have posted in the right place.

My background is in mathematics and statistics.

I am thinking of designing a print and play card game with around 10,000 cards. The game is kind of a cross between Pokemon and Top Trumps. I use a mathematical technique to guarantee that all cards have unique mathematical characteristics. The game also has the potential for large games to be played with up to 200 people playing the same game.

I want to make at least two versions of the game. (One with creatures and one without) The creature version of the game will take a lot more time to make and should be more popular. The other version requires programming skills and should be a lot quicker to make.

My view on the art of the game is to find people who want to be involved to create the art. I'm interested in getting the mathematics right as I believe the success of the game is a combination of the correct unique traits and also the artwork. I am not sure where the best place to start is here. I am currently building my database of all the card details. That will keep me busy for the next month or so.

I have a copy of a draft card that I made. I am happy to receive constructive criticism

I've never made a card game or board game before. I am interested in advice people can give me.