Recommend
4 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Stone Age: The Expansion» Forums » Rules

Subject: Placing people on the trader and NOT using the trader: rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Chris Berry
United States
Denver
CO - Colorado
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The printed copy of my rule book indicates you can use the trader when placing people on the trader that turn while the online pdfs show that players are NOT allowed to use the trader when they placed people at the trader (aka you can't use the trader while running the trade shop).

Is mine just a misprint or are my eyes/brain just going crazy? Am I all alone here?

I can see why that rule is in place as a balancing mechanic, but is certainly a rule we missed during our first play at bgg con. Has anyone else missed this rule during play?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lenz Poh
Singapore
Singapore
Singapore
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You can use the trader as and when you like as long as u fulfill the following conditions:

1. You MUST lack a resource to build a hunt/buy a civ card, then u can trade, and only once per turn.
2. You MUST have a least been to the trader once. Ie: your trade counter must be either one of the following 2:1, 1:1, or 1:2.

You are not required to have meeples at the trader when u want to trade, and even if you have meeples at the trader, you CAN trade.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gabriele Pezzato
Italy
Padova
PD
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
the rulebook on BGG has a mistake. The pdf rulebook on Rio Grande Games site matches the printed one. The correct rule is that you can ALSO use the trade mechanics if you don't place workers on the trader.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
TJ Stuver
United States
Portage
Michigan
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Then my printed rules also have the mistake because they match what's on BGG.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonathan Warren
United Kingdom
Wisbech
CAMBRIDGESHIRE
flag msg tools
designer
badge
"Elves are very good at board games, and I'm NOT an elf!"
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It's the word 'only' that causes the confusion. I note that on the RGG website, the rules have replaced the word 'only' with 'also'.

The old rules (as on BGG) read:
Quote:
The player may...
• ...trade if his marker has advanced at least to space 1 on the trader track.
• ...only trade if needed to acquire a civilization card or a building tile.
• ...trade decorations and resources of the player’s choice.
• ...depending on the position of his marker on the trader track, the trade is
2 to 1, 1 to 1, or 1 to 2.
• ...only trade if he did not place figures on the trader place this round.
• ...only trade once per round.

But the latest rules (as on RGG) read:
Quote:
The player may...
• ...trade if his marker has advanced at least to space 1 on the trader track.
• ...only trade if needed to acquire a civilization card or a building tile.
• ...trade decorations and resources of the player’s choice.
• ...depending on the position of his marker on the trader track, the trade is
2 to 1, 1 to 1, or 1 to 2.
• ...also trade if he did not place figures on the trader place this round.
• ...only trade once per round

One word that makes all the difference!
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Berry
United States
Denver
CO - Colorado
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
JoffW wrote:

One word that makes all the difference!

Thank you for clarify that for me. The rules for trading would make more sense if they just deleted this sentence

"• ...also trade if he did not place figures on the trader place this round."

as it is redundant. When you can trade is covered by the other rules before that sentence.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Short
United States
Tucson
Arizona
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
JoffW wrote:
It's the word 'only' that causes the confusion. I note that on the RGG website, the rules have replaced the word 'only' with 'also'.

The old rules (as on BGG) read:
Quote:
The player may...
• ...trade if his marker has advanced at least to space 1 on the trader track.
• ...only trade if needed to acquire a civilization card or a building tile.
• ...trade decorations and resources of the player’s choice.
• ...depending on the position of his marker on the trader track, the trade is
2 to 1, 1 to 1, or 1 to 2.
• ...only trade if he did not place figures on the trader place this round.
• ...only trade once per round.

But the latest rules (as on RGG) read:
Quote:
The player may...
• ...trade if his marker has advanced at least to space 1 on the trader track.
• ...only trade if needed to acquire a civilization card or a building tile.
• ...trade decorations and resources of the player’s choice.
• ...depending on the position of his marker on the trader track, the trade is
2 to 1, 1 to 1, or 1 to 2.
• ...also trade if he did not place figures on the trader place this round.
• ...only trade once per round

One word that makes all the difference!

I thought I'd throw another wrench into this revolving door...

I just acquired this game (RGG version) and apparently the latest RGG rulebook made another revision to this section (bolded for emphasis):
Quote:
The player may...
• ...trade if his marker has advanced at least to space 1 on the trader track.
• ...only trade if needed to acquire a civilization card or a building tile.
• ...trade decorations and resources of the player’s choice.
• ...depending on the position of his marker on the trader track, the trade is
2 to 1, 1 to 1, or 1 to 2.
• ...trade even if he placed figures on the trader place this round.
• ...only trade once per round
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls