Popular Tags: [View All]
David Webb
United States
North Little Rock
Arkansas
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I have 15 students in a 4th year Latin class that are in a sort of special situation. To make a long story short, the teacher of the class left and there was a new textbook so the curriculum was not laid out, and this is their last year of the language (mostly high school juniors), so I'm winging things without much time at all to do prep work (this isn't the only class that is in this situation). We do a lot of culture in the sequence and they've learned a lot about Roman society and government along the way.

I've had some very positive experiences using games in the classroom, especially with Munera: Familia Gladiatoria with another level class. And back in the fall this group played a little Conquest of the Empire and really enjoyed it. So I thought a good way to end up the year (with a little "synthesis" of what they have learned) was to have them go full-on at RoR, and they are enthusiastically behind it (though I should make it clear that they would probably be enthusiastically behind anything that isn't translating more Latin poetry). I've seen RoR called "an historical simulation of Roman politics" and I think that's what I'd like it to be for them. Best case scenario, of course.