let's say I have build a deck with Legolas because I know I may encounter the Goblin Archer (RtoR). Legolas' attack is 3 and the archer's defense is 3 so i have attached Rivendale Blade (or Darrowdelf Axe or whatever). It doesn't make sense that Legolas should be able to use a sword in a ranged attack but there is nothing in the rules to prevent it. What do we think?What do we think about what? As you say the rules don't specify a ranged/melee attack value so I'm not sure what the rules question is here.
also, can i attach TWO rivendale blades to the same character? or two Darrowdelf axes? Sure