Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Andean Abyss» Forums » Rules

Subject: Insurgent attacks and Gov. assaults rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Brian Berg Asklev Hansen
Denmark
Vejle
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Is it correct that the Gov. assaults operation target a specific faction and everyone else is safe (even if they are active), while insurgent attack operations targets everyone and lets the performing faction allocate losses? (but only removing bases if there are no other pieces of that faction left).

Can you choose to remove less than 2 pieces if you want to?

The rules are a bit unclear on this point.

I have just finished my first game (2 player with each player controlling 2 factions), and can´t wait to start my next one

Brian
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Volko Ruhnke
United States
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi Brian! Thanks for the question.

For both Govt Assault and Insurgent Attack, the executing Faction may choose to target one or several Factions, and may target some Factions but not others. If the targeted Faction or Factions have enough pieces, then the amount of pieces that can be removed must be removed.

Here are the relevant rules from the current version of the rulebook:

1.4.1 Availability and Removal, 3rd bullet.
Quote:
• Once an enemy Faction is targeted, removal of pieces to the extent of the executing Faction’s ability is required. EXAMPLE: A Government Assault (3.2.4) with 3 Troops in Forest must remove 3 Active pieces if there are at least that many among those Factions targeted.

3.1 Operations in General, bullet.
Quote:
• The executing Faction chooses the order of the spaces in which the Operation is resolved, the enemy Factions or pieces to be affected (targeted), and the friendly pieces to be placed or replaced. A single Operation may target one or more Factions and ignore others.

3.2.4 Assault
Quote:
PROCEDURE: In each selected space, remove 1 Active Guerrilla (1.4.3) for each Troops cube there. Once a targeted Faction has no Guerrillas in the space, remove its Bases instead.

3.3.3 Attack
Quote:
PROCEDURE: In each selected space, Activate (1.4.3) all the executing Faction’s Guerrillas and then roll a die: if the roll is less than or equal to the number of the executing Faction’s Guerrillas there (whether or not they began Active), remove up to 2 enemy pieces (executing Faction’s choice; may include Underground Guerrillas). The 2 pieces may belong to different Factions. A targeted Faction’s Bases cannot be removed before all its cubes or Guerrillas in the space.

Does that answer? Thanks again! - vfr
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Berg Asklev Hansen
Denmark
Vejle
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
loud and clear
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.