Recommend
4 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Space Empires: 4X» Forums » Rules

Subject: Retreating Screened Ships rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
John M
United States
Henderson
Nevada
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
Apologies if this has been asked before, but I can't find the answer to this on the forums, rules, or FAQ.

Section 5.7 Combat Screening states, "They may not fire or be fired upon. They may retreat, but only when it is their turn to do so (see 5.9)."

Section 5.9 Retreats states, "At any time after the first firing round, a ship may choose to retreat instead of firing. It may only choose to do this when it is its turn to fire."

Here's the question: If a screened ship can't fire, and a ship may only retreat when it is its turn to fire, can a screened ship retreat? If so, when?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Guido Gloor
Switzerland
Ostermundigen
Bern
flag msg tools
The statement below is false.
badge
The statement above is correct.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Gee, read very strictly this is indeed not logically sound.

I always read it as "screened ships can retrat (after the first round) when it would be their turn to fire if they could fire in the first place".
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim Krohn
United States
New York
flag msg tools
designer
You keep using that word. I do not think it means what you think it means.
badge
Ahhh....my misspent youth...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, Guido is correct. A cruiser wants to retreat in round 2. You decide to screen it - although it is fairly rare that you would want to retreat when you outnumber your opponent and are screening ships - when it gets to "C" firing, it may retreat.

Practically speaking, it does not matter the firing letter if the ship is screened. A screened ship can't be attacked that round, so it will get to retreat.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim Krohn
United States
New York
flag msg tools
designer
You keep using that word. I do not think it means what you think it means.
badge
Ahhh....my misspent youth...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
A clarification question - you do realize that a ship does not need to be screened to retreat, right? Any ship can retreat when it would have been their turn to fire (after the first round).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John M
United States
Henderson
Nevada
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
Jim Krohn wrote:
A clarification question - you do realize that a ship does not need to be screened to retreat, right? Any ship can retreat when it would have been their turn to fire (after the first round).


Yes, that part I got - fire or retreat. My confusion was when do screened ships retreat. I was just overthinking the issue. Thank you for the clarification.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David desJardins
United States
Burlingame
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Jim Krohn wrote:
Practically speaking, it does not matter the firing letter if the ship is screened. A screened ship can't be attacked that round, so it will get to retreat.


It does matter, as to how much information you get before you have to decide whether to retreat...
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim Krohn
United States
New York
flag msg tools
designer
You keep using that word. I do not think it means what you think it means.
badge
Ahhh....my misspent youth...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Right...I meant in terms of - it will be able to retreat. Your point is valid, though.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.