Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
13 Posts

Sergeants Miniatures Game: Day of Days» Forums » Rules

Subject: Encounted Soldiers rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
AMOS BURKE
United Kingdom
WALSALL
WEST MIDLANDS
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Think I have away of keeping track of soldiers that have been spotted and are classed as "Encounted" for orders.

I put a pin token face down on each soldiers stat's card.
As a soldier gets spotted he gives takes the token from the stat's card and gives it to his opponent.

Now if that soldier hides we still know at some point he was spotted and encounted.

As you get number of these "Encounted" tokens you will be able to see how many soldiers you need to kill or capture ,depending on which order card you have.

If your orders don't need you to kill or capture soldiers then this is still a record of which soldiers have been spotted during the game.

I'm not a fan of keeping notes so this way it's quick ,simple, no new tokens needed and will not give your orders away.

Amos
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew DiGregorio
United States
West Babylon
New York
flag msg tools
badge
I'm a scary clown!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
That certainly works. Sounds good to me!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
AMOS BURKE
United Kingdom
WALSALL
WEST MIDLANDS
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Works very good
We tried a game and my opponent thought he had it all worked out.

He got all 4 soldiers spotted,so i had the 4 encounted tokens to show this.

So he moved 1 soldier of the map and said "now you can't kill all or capture all my soldiers"

I said "that's right if i have order 59" (i was german)

So he thought and then moved 1 more soldier of the board.

"So your trying to stop me kill or capturing over half you men now" i said.

Which would have been good but i had order 63 capture over half the landmarks ,which was easier with only him having 2 soldiers left on the board.whistle

Amos

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Duke
United States
Wynne
Arkansas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Indeed it was!

Usually better to just play the game, do your best overall, and keep an eye on your Orders...think of them like "bonus" VPs... but the meat of the game is knocking off enemy soldiers.

And moving guys off the board to "rob" a possible VP situation...deserves what you did to him! I hope you laughed hard and then suggested you play for money next time!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
AMOS BURKE
United Kingdom
WALSALL
WEST MIDLANDS
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
kduke wrote:
Indeed it was!

Usually better to just play the game, do your best overall, and keep an eye on your Orders...think of them like "bonus" VPs... but the meat of the game is knocking off enemy soldiers.

And moving guys off the board to "rob" a possible VP situation...deserves what you did to him! I hope you laughed hard and then suggested you play for money next time!


My friend likes playing the rules to win not the game to win.
As a WW2 squad game i think this is arealy xlant system to play.
We have no big issues with the rules but when you put the "orders" in play we get issues.

If i May some issues we have

1 "Patrol" orders
Players just getting one soldier off the exit point and the others move off any where to clam VP's

2 "Attack" orders
Players getting landmarks and then move soldiers off any where to clam VP's

3 "Skirmish" orders
players just getting one soldier off the exit point and the others move off any where to clam VP's

We sorted this out by saying , soldiers can only exit at their stated entery or exit pionts (every escorting prisoners off to)
.
Also a "Hold" order, i think means hold that landmark on the last game turn for VP's

like i said we only have problems when we use order cards
Amos
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian
United States
Michigan
flag msg tools
badge
Johnny hastily dug a foxhole, careful not to damage the sticky bomb detonator. The tank rumbled nearer. Fear of being crushed or spotted consumed him; yet seconds later, he deftly slapped the bomb onto a greasy gear and spun for cover, snap-firing...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
420017 wrote:
we only have problems when we use order cards
Amos
+1 opinion, order cards have become the primary gamey aspects of play and suggest dominant strategies in order to win that are becoming difficult to ignore, this threatens to erode logical and thematic decision making and overall enjoyment when using them. I am now wondering how much better the game might be without the orders at all.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jay Duval
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Enemies are considered encountered when they are within two squares of one of your guys and have been spotted according to the quickstart rules. I don't mark enemy since that gives away what orders you are holding, I usually have a piece of paper to write a note of who was encountered. It's not likely that an enemy that close and sighted will

1. Ever become hidden again.
2. Escape without being shot or engaged in some way.
shake
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ubergeek
United States
Washougal
Washington
flag msg tools
Be Happy in your Game!
badge
I spent 100 Geek Gold and all I got was this lousy overtext message!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
This was the answer given by the designer in this thread: http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/695219/day-of-days-order-car...


Quote:
Soldiers "encountered" are soldiers that are spotted during play, and that can shoot at you or be shot at by you.

Success at the mission requirement is very difficult as any exiting encountered enemy soldier causes you to fail the mission.


What quick reference are you looking at? The one from LBG that comes with the game, or one of the unofficial files here on BGG? I don't recall anything about encountered soldiers required being within two squares and spotted. Spotted is spotted, regardless of the distance.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jay Duval
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Walt Mulder wrote:
This was the answer given by the designer in this thread: http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/695219/day-of-days-order-car...


Quote:
Soldiers "encountered" are soldiers that are spotted during play, and that can shoot at you or be shot at by you.

Success at the mission requirement is very difficult as any exiting encountered enemy soldier causes you to fail the mission.


What quick reference are you looking at? The one from LBG that comes with the game, or one of the unofficial files here on BGG? I don't recall anything about encountered soldiers required being within two squares and spotted. Spotted is spotted, regardless of the distance.


I recently bought the game and it came with a cardboard example of play and quick reference guide. If you read the quick start guide for scenerio #1 First contact in the box at the top of the page there are two order cards shown. Number 59 card is used as an example with an explanation next to it that reads:

"SKIRMISH Enemy Soldiers are Encountered when they are within 2 map squares and are Spotted. Skirmish Orders are scored on the last game turn (See Page 15 for Capture rules).

I originally thought as you did and even with the example thought the example on the quick start guide was refering to two maps squares because the scenerio occurs at night. But a soldier can spot up to 3 map squares away in that scenerio so the reference to having to be 2 map squares away for it to be considered an encounter must be the rule.

It kind of makes sense since just because you see a soldier from the distance doesn't mean you will ever encounter him. But up close like 2 map squares away and spotted there is very little doubt that you have encountered that enemy soldier.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ubergeek
United States
Washougal
Washington
flag msg tools
Be Happy in your Game!
badge
I spent 100 Geek Gold and all I got was this lousy overtext message!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Encountered Soldiers
Quote:
SKIRMISH Enemy Soldiers are Encountered when they are within 2 map squares and are Spotted. Skirmish Orders are scored on the last game turn (See Page 15 for Capture rules).


Well is does undeniably state that. I'll be darned. I like that definition of encountered as it's much more reasonable that long distance spotted enemies can't just leave the map to screw with your potential orders, and yet still keeps things somewhat difficult to accomplish. Now you might think twice before closig within 2 squares unless you want to capture or kill sighted units.

I simply use a sighted token on a unit card when they're considered "encountered". There's so many grenade/spotted tokens that there's enough to use as encountered tokens as well.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
AMOS BURKE
United Kingdom
WALSALL
WEST MIDLANDS
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
We always have a promlem with the orders, the game is spot on but orders leave a lot of "what if's".

If your orders are to kill or capture encountered (spotted) enemy then i would think it would mean enemy in the area you are in (the board) and not just the ones close enough to swear at you.

you might see and spot 9 enemy at long range and one at close range ,you only need the close one to get VP's

i would realy like to see the orders explained a bit clearer by someone.







1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Greg
United States
Lowell
Indiana
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Actually this game up in the game I taught my nephew tonight. It was for the Breakfast scenario and he was the Germans. He had the Orders 59 and wasn't sure about "encountered" and I really didn't have an answer for him. I thought maybe he had to capture/kill all of my units on the map because I wasn't sure what qualified as "encountered."

I had orders to enter from area C, search the landmarks and exit from area C. It says in RTC that Search is just moving into Cover in a landmark with at least one soldier and if there isn't Cover in the landmark then just move into and out of it. Now regarding Cover in that situation, I wasn't sure if you needed to "take cover" as if spotted, or just move into the building or into a tree. So I just moved into the building for the one landmark and the other didn't have Cover. I figured that if I'm ordered just to Search something, I shouldn't have to become "spotted" just to "take cover". I guess the other option is to just do a cover check even though your not spotted and then get out. But seems silly too. As far as I'm concerned, just moving into some form of terrain affect that could give you cover is all that is needed in that case.

Since my nephew was a little confused about the orders he got, he showed me and I showed him mine. I figured it was a learning game and I could have gotten in and out of the landmarks and off the board sure enough because unfortunately he didn't have the cards to move onto the board on turn 2 and didn't come on until turn 3. I didn't want his first SMG game experience to suck by me fulfilling my orders while he had a hard time just getting on the board. Heck, I told him that if his guys weren't there after turn 4 they were lost. How bad would that be if your orders don't let you enter play until turn 2, but while you "could have" do to cards on turn 1, you get stuck with bad cards and can't enter at all and the game ends because you can't enter play.

Anyway, I guess in the above orders we each got, if all he needed to do was get within 2 squares of one of my soldiers and spot it, then kill or capture it for 23 VPs, then me fulfilling my orders and getting back off the board wouldn't have been cheesy if he managed to capture/kill even only one of my guys. He'd get the VP's for that, plus for the capture/kill, while I'd only get the ones for fulfilling my orders card. So I might have lost by avoiding much contact and running off the board after searching 2 landmarks. That's cool that it works that way because it encourages you to think about sticking around for a fight.

I ended up winning as my nephew had taken my Machinegunner prisoner, I had another soldier move into close combat with the guard and after the struggle I took him prisoner. Then he had brought his leader into close combat and the leader was very slow with a move of 3, but he engaged two of my soldiers and had 5 for his fight number. He was really going to take it to me. But then I got initiative because of having lowest dog tag number and was able to kill that 5 fight guy before he was able to even draw a card. That was a lucky "kill" draw by me on an unwounded leader. Great times!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Greg
United States
Lowell
Indiana
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Walt Mulder wrote:
Quote:
SKIRMISH Enemy Soldiers are Encountered when they are within 2 map squares and are Spotted. Skirmish Orders are scored on the last game turn (See Page 15 for Capture rules).


Well is does undeniably state that. I'll be darned. I like that definition of encountered as it's much more reasonable that long distance spotted enemies can't just leave the map to screw with your potential orders, and yet still keeps things somewhat difficult to accomplish. Now you might think twice before closig within 2 squares unless you want to capture or kill sighted units.

I simply use a sighted token on a unit card when they're considered "encountered". There's so many grenade/spotted tokens that there's enough to use as encountered tokens as well.


Looking at the quick start reference guide, the very last paragraph says that looking forward to Turn 3,

" .......The German player has eliminated 1 U.S. Airborne Soldier but still have 3 more to deal with to complete their Orders."

I take it that it was because they were all in close enough proximity so that all the U.S. forces were within 2 squares and spotted. Had the U.S. player had Orders to enter on Entry C, search Landmarks and leave through Entry C, they could have kept most of their forces back near the Entry/Exit point and sent 1 soldier to do the searching of Landmarks and then get back out. But if the German player "encountered" only that one "searching" soldier and killed him after completing his searches, the U.S. player might lose if their remaining forces left Entry C to fulfill their Orders before becoming "encountered", because just by encountering and killing that one U.S. Soldier, the German player would have fulfilled his Orders for VPs and gotten additional ones for the value of the killed U.S. Soldier.

So it seems that even if your Orders don't specify getting into a battle, it might be a good idea to fight it out at least some before leaving the map for good, just to hopefully get enough VPs to put you over the top.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.