Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Fresco» Forums » Rules

Subject: Player order for wake up if tied after first round? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Dan Drontle
United States
Saint Paul
Minnesota
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
I understand that in the first turn the order for waking up is randomly assigned and that subsequent turns are determined by the number of victory points. However, what happens if multiple players don't paint any part of the fresco and don't get any victory points in the first turn? Do you keep the same order as the first round?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
P. oeppel
Germany
Berlin
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No, you change the order. IIRC (don't have the rules here right now), the person on the last spot (i.e. the first to choose wake up time) is put to the last spot, thus everyone else climbing up one spot.

For example, in a three player game with start spots S1 to S3, S1 goes to S3, S2 to S1, S3 to S2, so the person who chose wakeup time second during the last turn now gets the first pick.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Thornsen
United States
Nottingham
Maryland
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
There is a graphic on the back of the player shield which shows how the pieces on the various start spaces are re-arranged at the end of each round.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Canada
Calgary
Alberta
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
pinoeppel wrote:
No, you change the order. IIRC (don't have the rules here right now), the person on the last spot (i.e. the first to choose wake up time) is put to the last spot, thus everyone else climbing up one spot.

For example, in a three player game with start spots S1 to S3, S1 goes to S3, S2 to S1, S3 to S2, so the person who chose wakeup time second during the last turn now gets the first pick.

Actually, that's not quite right: S1 goes to S2, S2 goes to S3, and S3 comes "down" to S1. So the reverse of what you described, in other words. Here's how it's written in the English rulebook:

Fresco rules, page 8 wrote:
In case 2 or more master painters are still standing on the starting spaces they will change places. The first one is moved to the end of the line and the others are moved one space forward.

For the record, there's a little diagram for this on the bottom right of each player's small screen, so there should be no confusion about which order to swap players who haven't yet scored any VP.

Hope this helps!

Edit: Ugh, partial redundancy due to typing answer last night but forgetting to submit until today.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Duff
Canada
Ottawa
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Pictured here for anyone still confused.

3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
P. oeppel
Germany
Berlin
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
B Factor wrote:

Actually, that's not quite right: S1 goes to S2, S2 goes to S3, and S3 comes "down" to S1. So the reverse of what you described, in other words. Here's how it's written in the English rulebook:



So, obviously, I did not remember correctly

Thanks for the correction, B Factor.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Justin McGraw
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Is this only if there is a tie for a spot? Otherwise, do you change/set the order solely on VP?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex P
United States
Rockville
Maryland
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, this only happens among players who have not yet scored any points. Once you’re on the VP track proper, you cannot tie — if you would land on an occupied VP space, you may choose to either get one more point or one fewer.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.