Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Arkham Horror» Forums » Rules

Subject: Lots of questions that I cant find clafifaction for? ^_^ rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
play havock
msg tools
mb
Okay, the gates - closing them. First, is it your base Will or Fight number you are rolling the dice agenst - second , do you only nead 1 5/6 to close a gate? And third, what do the symbles below the gate meen?

When I use an elder sign to close a gate, and go insain to the ward- does the gate still close?

Can you sell items?

Okay, thanks!
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim Kiefer
United States
Fremont
California
flag msg tools
badge
It's all about the theme!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
playhavock wrote:
Okay, the gates - closing them. First, is it your base Will or Fight number you are rolling the dice agenst

Modifications to Fight or Lore (not will) also count but not Combat or Spell.

Quote:
- second , do you only nead 1 5/6 to close a gate? And third, what do the symbles below the gate meen?

They refer the symbols on the monsters. Monsters of the same symbol are returned to the cup.

Quote:
When I use an elder sign to close a gate, and go insain to the ward- does the gate still close?

yes. I think you mean sealed however.

Quote:
Can you sell items?

Not ordinarily. There's a place in Kingsport that will buy your old stuff and there are some location cards that allow it.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bobby Ramsey
United States
Grove City
OH
flag msg tools
badge
Hush
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
playhavock wrote:
Okay, the gates - closing them. First, is it your base Will or Fight number you are rolling the dice agenst


You can use either lore or fight.

Quote:
- second , do you only nead 1 5/6 to close a gate?


One success is enou to close it.

Quote:
And third, what do the symbles below the gate meen?


When that gate is closed, all monsters with that symbol in Arkham, the sky, or the outskirts are returned to the cup.

Quote:

When I use an elder sign to close a gate, and go insain to the ward- does the gate still close?


Still closes, seals, and takes a token from the doom track.


Quote:

Can you sell items?


No, but you can trade money and items between investigators.

4 
 Thumb up
0.05
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Mc Cabe
United States
Arizona
flag msg tools
There are those who look at things the way they are and ask why . . . I dream of things that never were and ask why not
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yog's special ability requires two successes to close/seal a gate.

Other than that minor clarification, the other posters are correct.

Brian
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
play havock
msg tools
mb
thanks everyone!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Lawson
United Kingdom
Yateley
Hampshire
flag msg tools
designer
Actually, if you are looking for clarification for these questions, the rulebook provides answers for all of them except for that last one.
playhavock wrote:
First, is it your base Will or Fight number you are rolling the dice agenst

Page 17, Closing Gates.
Quote:
he may now attempt to close the gate. To do so, the investigator
must choose whether to make a Lore check or a Fight check

So the player decides which to use. For more on Lore and Fight checks, see pages 12 and 13, Skills.

As already mentioned, you may use your Lore (not Will) when attempting to close a Gate.
playhavock wrote:
second , do you only nead 1 5/6 to close a gate?

Page 17, Closing Gates.
Quote:
If the investigator succeeds at this check, he closes the gate

Again, see pages 12 and 13, Skills concerning how many successes are needed. In this case, it is one.
Quote:
DIFFICULTY
This is the number of successes an investigator must roll
during a skill check to pass the check. Each die result of
5 or 6 counts as one success. Remember that if a skill
check does not list a difficulty, it is assumed to be 1.

playhavock wrote:
third, what do the symbles below the gate meen?

See page 18.
Quote:
MONSTERS AND CLOSING GATES
When a gate is closed, all monsters in Arkham, the Sky,
and the Outskirts that have the same dimension symbol
(see "Monster Movement," page 10) as the closed or
sealed gate are removed from the board and returned to
the cup. A monster’s dimension symbol is printed in the
lower-right corner of the marker’s movement side.

You need to find all the Monsters on the board with the matching symbol and return them to the cup.
playhavock wrote:
When I use an elder sign to close a gate, and go insain to the ward- does the gate still close?

See page 18, Elder Signs
Quote:
The player removes 1 Sanity and 1 Stamina from his
investigator sheet. This may knock the investigator
unconscious or drive him insane, but the elder sign still
takes effect.

As stated, the Elder Sign still takes effect, which means the Gate remains sealed (Sealed, not just closed). See pages 17 and 18 for the difference between sealed and closed.
playhavock wrote:
Can you sell items?

Not directly covered in the rules. The closest we have in on page 23, Trading Equipment
Quote:
An investigator in the same street area, Other World
area, or location as another investigator may trade
money, Common Items, Unique Items, and Spells. This
may be done before, during, or after movement, but not
during combat.


There are lots of exceptions to all the rules but typically a card, location, event, whatever would specially state the exception. As has been mentioned, it is possible to sell Items but that is one of the exceptions at a certain Location on a certain expansion board.

Same as the exception concerning closing Gates when Yog-Sothoth is the AO. In that case, you require an additional success to close or seal a Gate.

In general, it is best to ignore the exceptions until they actually apply
10 
 Thumb up
0.05
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Tudor
United Kingdom
Malvern
Worcestershire
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
apatheticexecutioner wrote:
Yog's special ability requires two successes to close/seal a gate.


Quote:
While Yog-Sothoth stirs in his slumber, the difficulty to close or seal a gate increases by 1.


I think I've read that wrong then. I played it as the difficulty modify is increased by one, so a -2 gate becomes -3 (rather than -2[1] becomes -2[2]).

2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
M.C.Crispy
United Kingdom
Basingstoke
Hampshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Wahoffelmadenga wrote:
apatheticexecutioner wrote:
Yog's special ability requires two successes to close/seal a gate.


Quote:
While Yog-Sothoth stirs in his slumber, the difficulty to close or seal a gate increases by 1.


I think I've read that wrong then. I played it as the difficulty modify is increased by one, so a -2 gate becomes -3 (rather than -2[1] becomes -2[2]).

Your new understanding is correct: it's -2[2]. Bummer eh?

People who bitch about Lurker being easy should try the Herald, with the Gates and with Yog-Sothoth as AO (or Hastur) Ouch. (Remember, I don't do FB; FB is counted a loss). Gates that are -3[2] with an additional -1 penalty to Close from the Herald isn't easy in my book regardless of Power Tokens. Fun though.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
play havock
msg tools
mb
Thanks got it all now! ^_^!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Damon Baume
Australia
Lismore
NSW
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Wahoffelmadenga wrote:
apatheticexecutioner wrote:
Yog's special ability requires two successes to close/seal a gate.


Quote:
While Yog-Sothoth stirs in his slumber, the difficulty to close or seal a gate increases by 1.


I think I've read that wrong then. I played it as the difficulty modify is increased by one, so a -2 gate becomes -3 (rather than -2[1] becomes -2[2]).



I had a game against Yog on the weekend and I've been reading Yog's 'ability' the same way, ie a -2 gate became a -3...didn't matter in the end as we all got devoured in the FB anyway...I'll have to remember that it's the number of successes that is increased not the modifier.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.