Recommend
6 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Nuklear Winter '68» Forums » Rules

Subject: several rules questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Kris Vezner
United States
Skokie
Illinois
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
These don't seem to have been answered elsewhere

1) Can SPAAs move and fire? 5.3 says that they can't, 2.3.3.5 says that they can.

2) confirm that SPAs can op fire at units in LOS, per 5.2? And statement in 2.3.3.4 that SPAs can't op fire is wrong?

3) What keeps a defender from retreating into a hex after an assault, per 5.4? Enemy unit in retreat hex? Stacking limit in retreat hex would be exceeded?

4) In this forum I have read posts stating two different interpretations of what happens if a unit with its move reduced to 1/2 due to some condition has its move reduced by 1/2 again due to a separate condition. The answers are either that the double-reduced unit 1) can't move at all that turn, and if it did then it can't take the action that would reduce its move by 1/2 a second time; or 2) has its move reduced to 1/4 of its normal move. Which is correct?

Thank you to anyone who can help.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ryan
United States
flag msg tools
1 Player hardcore
badge
Lone Warrior
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
kvezner wrote:
These don't seem to have been answered elsewhere

1) Can SPAAs move and fire? 5.3 says that they can't, 2.3.3.5 says that they can.

2) confirm that SPAs can op fire at units in LOS, per 5.2? And statement in 2.3.3.4 that SPAs can't op fire is wrong?


Good catch. I've got nothing to offer. See below.

kvezner wrote:
3) What keeps a defender from retreating into a hex after an assault, per 5.4? Enemy unit in retreat hex? Stacking limit in retreat hex would be exceeded?


The only reason the surviving defender retreats is if the targeted defender is destroyed. If the targeted defender is not destroyed, the defender or defenders do not retreat.

The last sentence in 5.4 is: If the defender can't retreat, it will be eliminated instead.

I interpret this as meaning the retreating unit is eliminated if all of the three retreat hexes are already at their stacking limitations or occupied by enemy units.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ryan
United States
flag msg tools
1 Player hardcore
badge
Lone Warrior
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
kvezner wrote:
These don't seem to have been answered elsewhere

1) Can SPAAs move and fire? 5.3 says that they can't, 2.3.3.5 says that they can.

2) confirm that SPAs can op fire at units in LOS, per 5.2? And statement in 2.3.3.4 that SPAs can't op fire is wrong?


This Player Aid Summary says that 1) SPAAs can move at 1/2 rate and fire non-fixed range weapons. It also says 2) SPAs can OP FIRE at units in LOS.

See this thread: SPA and op fire for confirmation from Petre. I haven't been able to find direct confirmation from Petre regarding the SPAA question yet.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Petre Tutunea
Romania
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
kvezner wrote:
1) Can SPAAs move and fire? 5.3 says that they can't, 2.3.3.5 says that they can.


Both rules refer to, and must be read in relation to the Fixed Range rulings.

Weapons with the same FP colored range factor are Fixed Range weapons. Fixed range weapons:
- May not fire further than the printed range factor
- Do not receive the close range AV bonus
- May be fired on the move, except for SPA/SPAAs
- May be used in group firing, except for SPA/SPAAs
- May be used in assaults, except for SPA/SPAAs


To answer your question, SPAAs may only fire their non-fixed range weapons on the move, if they have any.

kvezner wrote:
2) confirm that SPAs can op fire at units in LOS, per 5.2? And statement in 2.3.3.4 that SPAs can't op fire is wrong?


As Ryan correctly pointed out, SPAs may Op Fire at targets in LOS.

kvezner wrote:
3) What keeps a defender from retreating into a hex after an assault, per 5.4? Enemy unit in retreat hex? Stacking limit in retreat hex would be exceeded?


Again, Ryan was right: stacking limitations, enemy presence and, in some cases, impassable terrain (e.g. water, radiation, etc.) can prevent retreat.

kvezner wrote:
4) In this forum I have read posts stating two different interpretations of what happens if a unit with its move reduced to 1/2 due to some condition has its move reduced by 1/2 again due to a separate condition. The answers are either that the double-reduced unit 1) can't move at all that turn, and if it did then it can't take the action that would reduce its move by 1/2 a second time; or 2) has its move reduced to 1/4 of its normal move. Which is correct?


They both are.

A unit can be affected by two 1/2 Move conditions (e.g. rendered Shaken while already OOC), in which case they cumulate and prevent Movement.

A unit already affected by a 1/2 Move condition (e.g. Shaken) may not *voluntarily* perform an action that would incur a second 1/2 Move penalty (e.g. fire on the move).
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kris Vezner
United States
Skokie
Illinois
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
OK that is all good. Thank you both and Petre thank you also for monitoring questions on your game. That seems like a good policy.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.