Subject: I love the Death Angel rule book rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Sparkle Motion
United Kingdom
Bristol
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Well ok, maybe a bit of an exaggeration, but honestly every thread about Death Angel seems to have someone in it complaining about the rule book and how it's impossible to learn the rules without multiple read throughs and / or referring to clarifications on BGG.

I thought it was pretty good. I think I read through it carefully once before I started playing and at the end I felt I knew exactly how the game basically worked and had a pretty clear idea on most of the details and how to resolve some of the possible rule conflicts.

Certainly it was enough to get me playing with only a few refer backs needed during the play.

I'll admit it's not that easy to find things when you're trying to look them up later and a good index would have been nice, but it never takes me thaaat long to find what I'm looking for. Afterall it is pretty small.

Some of the rules are a bit fiddly, and it's easy to get things a bit wrong, but that's the nature of the game rather than the rule book and in most cases if you apply a bit of common sense the worst that can happen is you'll get the rules wrong in a way which doesn't really effect the overall gameplay.

Honestly compared to some rule books I've read recently I thought it was a dream. Agricola! - after reading that rule book through twice I still had absolutely no idea what the basic game set up looked like or really how any of the mechanics worked. Dominion - whhaat? - why's there two rule books that both look the same - how the hell am I supposed to know which one to look in when I'm trying to find something? Now I've got Prosperity expansion I have four rule books for what is really a pretty simple game.