Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Brian Clymer
United States
Fort Collins
Colorado
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Why this game?: Locke & Key came across my radar by accident. I am fairly new to the BGG community but have since made it my home (and home page) throughout every day - spending several hours reading reviews, keeping an eye on new-to-release games, and the like. The exact course of events that led me to purchase Locke & Key are quite dull (clicking one of the game banners on the side of BGG's home page), but the game is far from the same description. I have always been a fan of comic books, though not a collector by any means, and the artwork in Locke & Key instantly drew me back to my childhood of reading X-Men and The Avengers.

Overview
Play Time: 30-45minutes
Player Limit: 3-6
Game Weight: Light-Medium

The Game
Objective

Locke & Key prides itself in being a trick-taking card game with a twist. There's no element of deck building present for you never produce your own draw deck (every player draws from the same two decks for play cards), but it can have a marginal feel of a deck building game when a player decides to use strength combos and keys (to be discussed later). The premise is simple enough, go through 12 to 18 hands of play, known as challenges, and have the most VP when the "Game Over" card appears in the challenge deck.

Components

The first thing that caught my eye was the quality of the cards for this game. All of the artwork for the cards is taken directly from the artwork from the graphic novel Locke & Key by Joe Hill, the inspiration for this game. There are three types of cards in this game: Challenge cards, Strength cards, and Key cards (to be discussed during Game Play section). Each deck of cards is of medium thickness and could find them subject to wear/tear from shuffling and handling if not sleeved, but that's a risk you take when you don't sleeve a card game's cards.