Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Steam» Forums » Rules

Subject: Completed Links rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Robert Manore
United States
Colorado Springs
Colorado
flag msg tools
badge
Warlord beats Troll, Troll beats Elf, Elf beats Water Sprite, and basically everything else beats Enchanted Bunny.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
So the rulebook says that a completed link occurs when the track ends at a city or town, correct?

So, here are a couple questions regarding this:

#1) It is the current player's choice of which town tile to place when his track enters a town hex. So the player may place a town tile with only one exit, or as many exits as he wishes. But any follow-on player must pay to substitute a different town tile while ignoring terrain costs?

For example, player A completes his track leading into a town with the town tile that only has one exit (from which he came), which costs only $2. But later, player C wants to connect to the same town from a different direction. So player C removes the original town tile and replaces it with a new town tile that has two exits. Player C pays $3 for the upgrade because the new tile has two exits.

#2) Player A connected two cities with track but also connected two towns in-between those cities in the process. However, the two towns were never Urbanized. For example:

C > T > T > C

For scoring purposes, does player A get credit for making 3 completed links, or only one large completed link between the cities?

Thanks for the input!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ægir Æxx
Iceland
Reykjavik
Gullbringusysla
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
So the rulebook says that a completed link occurs when the track ends at a city or town, correct?
Correct!

Quote:
#1) It is the current player's choice of which town tile to place when his track enters a town hex. So the player may place a town tile with only one exit, or as many exits as he wishes. But any follow-on player must pay to substitute a different town tile while ignoring terrain costs?

For example, player A completes his track leading into a town with the town tile that only has one exit (from which he came), which costs only $2. But later, player C wants to connect to the same town from a different direction. So player C removes the original town tile and replaces it with a new town tile that has two exits. Player C pays $3 for the upgrade because the new tile has two exits.

Correct!

Quote:
#2) Player A connected two cities with track but also connected two towns in-between those cities in the process. However, the two towns were never Urbanized. For example:

C > T > T > C

For scoring purposes, does player A get credit for making 3 completed links, or only one large completed link between the cities?
Three links.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Manore
United States
Colorado Springs
Colorado
flag msg tools
badge
Warlord beats Troll, Troll beats Elf, Elf beats Water Sprite, and basically everything else beats Enchanted Bunny.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks!!! thumbsup
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Throknor
United States
Pittsburgh
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Robman wrote:
#2) Player A connected two cities with track but also connected two towns in-between those cities in the process. However, the two towns were never Urbanized. For example:

C > T > T > C

For scoring purposes, does player A get credit for making 3 completed links, or only one large completed link between the cities?

Thanks for the input!


For all purposes, those are three links. Which includes deliveries.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Manore
United States
Colorado Springs
Colorado
flag msg tools
badge
Warlord beats Troll, Troll beats Elf, Elf beats Water Sprite, and basically everything else beats Enchanted Bunny.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Throknor wrote:


For all purposes, those are three links. Which includes deliveries.


So 1 Good delivered on this example would give player A 3 track points as well as count as 3 completed links at the end of the game for scoring? Good to know.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.