Chris Hall
Canada
flag msg tools
mbmb
Hi - I'm a bit of noob, been playing off and on for the past eight months ago, and I get thrashed often. I'm looking to change that...

One of the things I've learned is how crucial having a draw engine is. With that said, even having lots of draw tech in my Martell deck, I'm still finding that I'm losing a tons of cards. It's not unusual to have a blank hand by turn 3 or 4 - and I find that, once that happens, losing board advantage soon follows and then I'm sunk.

This could be a function of the decks I usually find myself playing against (Lannister/Power Behind the Throne, how I've grown to loath you), but I'm also wondering if I'm doing something wrong strategy-wise. My basic philosophy is "get the weenies out" - try to establish board presence with small cards, even if that means not playing big cards until the middle of the game.

Am I wrong about this? Should I be reserving small cards in my hand to try to maintain hand advantage, or at least be a little insulated against intrigue? As a general rule, is it better, on setup, to go with a 3-2 or a 4-1, rather than three 1's and a 2 (say) and sacrifice drawing more cards?

My other deck is a Greyjoy, which I find very hard to find draw for. Right now I'm using Kingdom of Shadows (sucks with Distinguished Boatswain, but still worth it, I think), Val, and a few of the discard-and-draw cards. Bay of Ice got rotated out once my opponents activated it a few too many times (I know, I should get more initiative...). I considered Sam and the Ravens, but my no-season deck is already weenie-heavy. Any options I'm missing?

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Griffith
United States
Monkton
Maryland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb