Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Castle Dash» Forums » Rules

Subject: Combat related questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Anders Pedersen
Denmark
Copenhagen N.
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
- When shooting more than 1 cannonball in a combat, do you roll all dice at once and use the same modifier for all rolls, or do you roll one at a time modifying according to casualties?

- The Heavy Cannon and the Net are both supposed to be played in phase C of a combat. But shooting cannonballs happens in phase B. Does this really mean they are not worth anything during the first combat?

- If you do not face any opponents in a combat, are you still allowed to play Armory Cards?

- Can you exceed 6 soldiers in a battle by using the Tactician?

- When stealing treasure, where do you place it?
Is it possible to steal a treasure from a player who stole it from another player, or even you?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tracy Smith
United States
Bothell
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Just my opinions:

dbc- wrote:
- When shooting more than 1 cannonball in a combat, do you roll all dice at once and use the same modifier for all rolls, or do you roll one at a time modifying according to casualties?

We play by taking casualties after each roll.

dbc- wrote:
- The Heavy Cannon and the Net are both supposed to be played in phase C of a combat. But shooting cannonballs happens in phase B. Does this really mean they are not worth anything during the first combat?

Phase C is for optional Armory cards, not those that apply to every battle.

dbc- wrote:
- If you do not face any opponents in a combat, are you still allowed to play Armory Cards?

We do.

dbc- wrote:
- Can you exceed 6 soldiers in a battle by using the Tactician?

I'd say yes.

dbc- wrote:
- When stealing treasure, where do you place it?
Is it possible to steal a treasure from a player who stole it from another player, or even you?

We just pile it all behind our castle. If you want a longer game, allowing players to choose which treasure to take could make things interesting.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Phil Kilcrease
United States
SLC
Utah
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hello Anders,

Good questions. You can find the answers below.

dbc- wrote:
- When shooting more than 1 cannonball in a combat, do you roll all dice at once and use the same modifier for all rolls, or do you roll one at a time modifying according to casualties?


You roll one at a time and modify according to casualties.

dbc- wrote:
- The Heavy Cannon and the Net are both supposed to be played in phase C of a combat. But shooting cannonballs happens in phase B. Does this really mean they are not worth anything during the first combat?


The Heavy Cannon and Net are static effects for the turn and go into effect when claimed.

dbc- wrote:
- If you do not face any opponents in a combat, are you still allowed to play Armory Cards?


No.

dbc- wrote:
- Can you exceed 6 soldiers in a battle by using the Tactician?


No.

dbc- wrote:
- When stealing treasure, where do you place it?
Is it possible to steal a treasure from a player who stole it from another player, or even you?


You place it behind your castle. Stolen treasure cannot be stolen by another player or taken back by the owner.



Best,
P
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Anders Pedersen
Denmark
Copenhagen N.
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you both for the answers.
One comment:
krinklechip wrote:

dbc- wrote:
- The Heavy Cannon and the Net are both supposed to be played in phase C of a combat. But shooting cannonballs happens in phase B. Does this really mean they are not worth anything during the first combat?


The Heavy Cannon and Net are static effects for the turn and go into effect when claimed.


So, in a 3- or 5-player game, if you are not the 1st player, the card is likely to be effective against only 1 player! (?)
We played it that way the other day, but people felt it was only really worthwhile to pick, if being 1st player and planning to attack the castle first. The rest of the cards were usually contested, but the net felt underpowered in our 5-player session.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Phil Kilcrease
United States
SLC
Utah
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
dbc- wrote:

So, in a 3- or 5-player game, if you are not the 1st player, the card is likely to be effective against only 1 player! (?)


The Heavy Cannon applies against all opponents, including the 3 & 5 player Castles.

You are correct, though; the Net is only useful against two of you three opponents in 3 & 5 player games.


Best,
P
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.