Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Kahuna» Forums » Rules

Subject: Build Bridges to Island Controlled by Opponent? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Gillum the Stoor
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Can you a build a bridge to an island controlled by your opponent?

The rules don't explicitly forbid this - they say only "When a player gains control of an island, he removes any bridges on that island belonging to his opponent."

I don't see anything about what happens afterwards.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kent Reuber
United States
San Mateo
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Sure. If there's an empty space, you can build a bridge even if the opponent owns the island.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gillum the Stoor
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks!

I see now that the non-rule that I imagined is actually one of the variant rules: "A player may only place a bridge on a free dotted line between two islands, if neither of these two islands are controlled by the other player (Kahuna stone in place)."
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gillum the Stoor
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Here's a follow-up question, based on the answer given to my original question.

Suppose that my opponent controls an island, with 3 out of 5 bridges.

Suppose I build one of the other two bridges.

Now suppose my opponent builds on the fifth bridge, to have 4 out of 5.

Has he gained control of the island again, causing my bridge to be removed?

Or is my bridge safe as long as he controls that island?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Russ Williams
Poland
Wrocław
Dolny Śląsk
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
gillum wrote:
Here's a follow-up question, based on the answer given to my original question.

Suppose that my opponent controls an island, with 3 out of 5 bridges.

Suppose I build one of the other two bridges.

Now suppose my opponent builds on the fifth bridge, to have 4 out of 5.

Has he gained control of the island again, causing my bridge to be removed?

Or is my bridge safe as long as he controls that island?

The English rules which I have distinguish between "having control" and "gaining control". If you already have control, and build another bridge, it seems to me that building that bridge does not make you "gain" control. You just continue to have the control which you already had - no control was "gained".
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.