Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Crusader Rex» Forums » Rules

Subject: A question on drawing rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Rob Wilson
United Kingdom
Beverley
East Yorkshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I am playing the 1st edition with version 1.4 rules. I have drawn a Saracen Arabs unit with a home seat of Egypt and the rules say that it can be placed in its home seat (or alternate) at full strength or in any other friendly at strength 1.

If Egypt is currently held by the Francs then what is its alternate seats.
All the draw pool of the Saracen player contains units that don't have emblems that match with those on the map, just colored diamonds.

Can they be placed on any other city that matches one of the emblems of Egypt at full strength.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Forest Green Hobbit
United States
Montpelier
Vermont
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
For the Saracens, only Saladin and his family (AL-ADIL, AL-AFDAL, AL-AZIZ, and AL-ZAHIR) have alternate seats (shown as the yellow flying horse on red backgrounnd). [Note that this distinction really only applies to Winter Replacements as these Emirs may never be in the draw pool.]

The nomads (round shield with diamond) have no alternate seat. Egypt nomads can only enter full strength in Egypt.

The rules: "1.4 SEATS Some towns have nearby heraldic shields that indicate they are the Seat (home area) for a particular block(s). Duplicate shields exist, such as at Sidon and Beaufort. Sidon is the main seat since it is the town named on the block, but Beaufort is an alternate seat."
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rob Wilson
United Kingdom
Beverley
East Yorkshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks, thats what I was thinking. The confusing bit is that in the rules it says

8.3 Saracen Draws
Saracen draws are deployed at full strength at their own (or alternate) Seats if friendly, or at streangth 1 on any friendly town.

Since only Nomads are in the draw pool and only the Emirs have alternate seats then it was pointless them putting thet "(or alternate)" in the rules just to confuse people. Make you think that there should be an alternate seat
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Forest Green Hobbit
United States
Montpelier
Vermont
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Good point. Could be the rules author/editor just cut and pasted from "8.25 Outremers".
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.