Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

A Game of Thrones: The Board Game (Second Edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Defeating a Garrison rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Julian C
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
There is a contradiction in the rules between:
(controlling home areas)
1a."the printed house shield functions like a power token that cannot be removed"
1b."when establishing control over an enemy home area, the friendly power token is placed directly over the printed enemy house shield"
1c."if a player chooses not to, or cannot, leave a power token behind when vacating an enemy player's home area, control of that home area immediately reverts back to its original house"

and
(garrisons)
2a."if a garrison is defeated in combat, it is permanently removed from the game"

2a directly contradicts 1a
if following 2a, you cannot place your power over the garrison as it has been removed from the game
if removed from the game control it does not make sense for control to revert when vacated as in 1c

so...

disregard 2a?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Radosław Michalak
Poland
Bytom
flag msg tools
Gaming is for having fun. Fun requires clear rules.
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Defeating a Garrison (contradiction in rules)

Do you distinguish power token from garrison?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Julian C
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
Re: Defeating a Garrison (contradiction in rules)
I have got confused between the house shield and garrison, there is no contradiction. Doh
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ien C.
United States
New York
New York
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Defeating a Garrison (contradiction in rules)
The "printed house token" referred to in 1a is NOT the garrison. It's the house token that's printed directly on the board that looks like a power token.

EDIT: looks like to you figured this out just as I was posting. Enjoy the game!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Radosław Michalak
Poland
Bytom
flag msg tools
Gaming is for having fun. Fun requires clear rules.
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
JulianC wrote:
I have got confused between the house shield and garrison, there is no contradiction. Doh

I can sure you that there is no contradictions in this game's rules
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.