Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Mage Knight Board Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Cancel attack, skip damage, doesn't attack rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Tim Mierz
United States
Middletown
Connecticut
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Whirlwind (and other cards): "Target enemy does not attack this combat."

Banner of Fear, basic effect: "...cancel one attack."

Banner of Fear, special effect: "Skip the Block and Damage Assigning phases of this combat."

Are these all equivalent, except that "skip the phases" stops all enemies' attacks? Do all of these still continue the combat, allowing the player to attack any enemies and reap the appropriate rewards? Or do some of these just stop combat against an enemy, letting everyone involved survive?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel Hammond
United States
League City
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
TimMierz wrote:
Whirlwind (and other cards): "Target enemy does not attack this combat."

Banner of Fear, basic effect: "...cancel one attack."

Banner of Fear, special effect: "Skip the Block and Damage Assigning phases of this combat."

Are these all equivalent, except that "skip the phases" stops all enemies' attacks? Do all of these still continue the combat, allowing the player to attack any enemies and reap the appropriate rewards? Or do some of these just stop combat against an enemy, letting everyone involved survive?


A and B are basically equivalent. When you say "and other cards" they become similar but not equivalent. The blue and red cards can't be played on creatures with Ice and Fire resistances respectively (so while they do the same thing who they can target is different).

When you skip block and damage assigning, that is equivalent to ALL enemy attacks being canceled. Block is canceled because some blocks have additional effects which don't apply because the monsters aren't attacking.

Edit: and you to answer your question, your phases of offensive abilities are not cancelled, so if permitted you can use ranged/siege attacks and then melee attacks. There is no card that pretends there is no combat, you still have to win or perhaps be forcibly retreated.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tim Mierz
United States
Middletown
Connecticut
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Okay, so these phrases are all equivalent (except that skipping the phases stops all enemies), and all allow the player to attack the enemy. That's what I would've thought, but when we encountered Chill and Banner of Fear and seemingly the same phrase was worded several different ways, I was worried we were doing something wrong. Thanks for the reply.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.