Subject: Play Time... what's your speed? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mick Law
Denmark
Kolding
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I am new to Thunderstone, and am really enjoying it, but I have a question about how long an average game should take to play.

The box says 45 minutes, but all my games have been longer... much longer... over 2 hours inclusive of set up.

So my question is, will the game get much faster over time? Also, is there anything (besides just playing faster) I can do to speed the experience?

I've tried alternative Setups from the Rule Book, but so far, none of them have impacted the the Play Time.

Thanks,
-- Mick
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Phil Dawson
United Kingdom
Spalding
Lincolnshire
flag msg tools
Nothing to see here, move along
badge
Need to put something witty here
mbmbmbmbmb
My experience also suggests a 2 hour play time is more the norm.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris
United States
Michigan
flag msg tools
badge
http://www.penny-arcade.com/comic/2007/03/28
mbmbmbmbmb
MickLaw wrote:
So my question is, will the game get much faster over time? Also, is there anything (besides just playing faster) I can do to speed the experience?

Playing time will decrease with experience, but we still run about 90 minutes for a 4 player game (~75 minutes with 3 players).
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andy Leber
Canada
Orillia
ON
flag msg tools
Yin
badge
Yang
mbmbmbmbmb
Yeah, the cards/situation can affect the play time too, but my groups very first time playing a 4p of Thunderstone only took about an hour and a half, and we're quite chatty. In fact, we're always well beyond the estimated time for games.

2+ hours, while certainly not impossible, seems a bit high for the norm, in my opinion. I personally never take setup time into consideration though when playing a game.

You'll definitely get faster with a game like this though.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Doug Adams
Australia
Oakleigh