Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

The Lord of the Rings: The Card Game – The Redhorn Gate» Forums » Rules

Subject: timely aid "if able?" rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mark Campo
United Kingdom
Manchester
lancashire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
is the if able:
if able to pay?
or
if able because something might prevent it?

is it a cheaper/free ally at possibly a lower cost or is a search and pay of an ally you need type card?


cost 4 secrecy 3 (so it may be 1 cost?)
look at 5 card put 1 ally into play, if able..
shuffle the other cards back.

(put in to play with out paying its cost?)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Duke Of Lizards
United States
Montpelier
Vermont
flag msg tools
Livin's mostly wasting time, and I waste my share of mine
badge
I am a breathing time machine
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
"Put into play" is different than "play [from your hand]", so locations and quest cards that don't allow you to play cards do not affect Timely Aid. The 'if able' part means that if you find an ally in the top 5, you may put it into play. If not, tough luck.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Campo
United Kingdom
Manchester
lancashire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
never considered not finding and ally in 5 cards :-) brillient
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Frank Otte
Germany
Münster
Nordrhein-Westfalen
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I am sorry to revive this thread, but it seemed the appropriate one.

If you find one or more allies in these five cards, do you HAVE to put one of these into play? It seems so, right?

We had the sitiation, that a someone played "Timely Aid" during a "calm" period of the game (considering enemies) and the only ally drawn, was Gandalf... we judged, that he had to put Gandalf into play "for nothing".

Were we right?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Duke Of Lizards
United States
Montpelier
Vermont
flag msg tools
Livin's mostly wasting time, and I waste my share of mine
badge
I am a breathing time machine
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hermjard wrote:
I am sorry to revive this thread, but it seemed the appropriate one.

If you find one or more allies in these five cards, do you HAVE to put one of these into play? It seems so, right?

We had the sitiation, that a someone played "Timely Aid" during a "calm" period of the game (considering enemies) and the only ally drawn, was Gandalf... we judged, that he had to put Gandalf into play "for nothing".

Were we right?


I had this same issue once, and my interpretation was identical to yours. A wizard arrives precisely when he intends to...devil
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Patrick Brennan
Australia
St Ives, Sydney
NSW
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, you must. The "if able" applies to you not finding an ally, nothing else.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
ys jo
msg tools
PBrennan wrote:
Yes, you must. The "if able" applies to you not finding an ally, nothing else.


Don't forget unique situations.
Or some other future condition that prevents ally from entering play.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.