John
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb

For a long time I have taken my own photos, scanned my own items, and written my own descriptions.

So its a Saturday morning and I want to list 5 items on ebay. Looking for my camera and carefully positioning each item I photograph each one from several angles "one sentence does not justify the time this takes". After taking the photos I upload them to my photo editor to be edited and watermarked "I am not a graphics designer so this also takes quite a bit of time". Then I upload the photos.

Getting ready to post the item, I read the BGG description of the item, and the manufacturers description. Then I begin to rewrite this in my own words with as much additional information that I can find on it, including from my own personal experience. Trying to muster as much creativity as possible I write my description, format, spell check, and save.

In addition to this I have to select the category, add return info, cross selling info, etc "some of this has been minimized with the use of a saved template".

Whoa! Ok remember this is only to list a few items on my own site or ebay. Saturday morning is over and I only successfully finished 3 out of the 5 items.
cry

There has been on occasion that I have gotten a photo directly from a manufacturer which has saved a lot of time. The BGG descriptions often are very valuable. I have noticed some retailers pull the description directly from BGG with credit. Is this allowed? What about images?

Are game manufacturers supplying or offering more access to image files?

What have you done to speed up this process and make it more efficient?

By the way Amazon is amazing in that it has one image and description making it much faster to post vs ebay. BGG marketplace is easier as well but I find it difficult to manage more then a few listings.

Whats your story?

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Shinners
United States
New York
New York
flag msg tools