Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Lords of Waterdeep» Forums » Rules

Subject: Many quests and no agents to assign the adventurers rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Charlie Chuckle
United States
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I just wanted to make this clear.

It says in several places, and more specifically on page 8 of the rulebook, "If you have no more Agents available to assign, you can no longer take turns that round."

Just to clarify:
1) For your turn, if you have an agent, you can stall by only completing a quest. (It's a stall because you don't exhaust an agent, and have the ability to complete many quests this way with one agent)

2) For your turn, you exhaust your last agent by placing him in a building. Then you realize you (just) met the requirement for 2 or more quests. You may ONLY complete ONE quest during that turn. Afterwards, you cannot finish the other quests because you have no agents. Even if other players are taking turns.

3) If you have an agent in Waterdeep Harbor, then you can complete a quest when reassigning that agent. However, reassigning agents from the Harbor does not allow you to complete multiple quests like #1 above.

4) Heroes Garden advanced buliding says, "Take 1 face-up quest card... You may immediately complete that quest." Does this imply that you can complete two quests in one turn. Complete the quest immediately as part of the building action, and then complete a second quest during the same turn as part of your action/turn.

**Once again, apologies if this is already in the rulebook or somewhere on the forum. I did check for about 25-30min and couldn't find it**
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chad Miller
United States
Stigler
Oklahoma
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Assigning an agent is not optional, and you can only complete a quest after assigning an agent. The rules summary on the back of the rulebook is very clear on both of these points. The only reason you wouldn't place an agent when your turn comes around is if you legally can't perform any remaining action; for example, the Builder's Hall is the only space left and you have less than 3 money.

Heroes' Garden does not count toward the normal 1 quest/turn limit, so you can activate HG, take a quest from Cliffwatch, complete it, then complete another quest if you have the resources to pull it off. Peter Lee has confirmed it somewhere on these boards.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Charlie Chuckle
United States
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
On the back of the rulebook it says,

Quote:
ACTIONS IN A TURN
During your turn, if you have Agents available to assign, you take one or both of the following actions.

1. Assign Agent
2. Complete Quest

^^Pretty clear you can just do #2, but then...

Then later it says,
Quote:
Complete Quest: After assigning or reassigning an Agent, you may complete a quest...


Woops, I missed that part.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Simon Woodward
New Zealand
Hamilton
flag msg tools
a.k.a. The Shire
badge
Waggle, waggle
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yeah the way they explain it in the rule book is a bit dumb, since it's only the second action that's optional.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.