Subject: Cleaning up Detroit? Sadly.... not likely rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Lynette
United States
Richland
Washington
flag msg tools
Yep, I am a girl Scientist. Come for the breasts; Stay for the brains!
badge
For as long as I shall live I will testify to love; I'll be a witness in the silences when words are not enough.
mbmbmbmbmb
I come from a long line of fight the good fight type of people from both of my genetic lines.

So my Dad and Step-mom, after another break-in a couple of months ago, finally had enough and decided to move out of Detroit.

For years my Dad has helped his neighbors by mowing lawns and doing small favors to try and keep the neighborhood nicer. Not to mention being a policeman for over 25 years. But as they get older and the battle seems to be being lost at a faster rate than ever, they are finally heading outside the city limits.

But they aren't going without at least a bit of fanfare.

Mom wrote a farewell letter to the city council of Detroit, and then the news did a story about why they are leaving.

If anybody is interested... here is link to the news story, including video of the area they/we lived in. I love that house and I am sad it will no longer be ours when I go home to visit.

I am even sader to see the city of my youth so utterly trashed.

(if you watch the video you get to sort of meet my step-mom. Though I just call her mom, since she and my Dad have been married since I was like 3.)

http://www.clickondetroit.com/news/Detroit-couple-says-fear-...

Oh and FYI... this is the second break-in the last few years.

They have been broken into other times before this. Once while I was going to college. It was funny some of the things taken from my room.

and another

http://www.clickondetroit.com/news/news/Detroit-neighborhood...

Here is a copy of the letter she wrote.

Dear Mr. Cockrel: