Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

1989: Dawn of Freedom» Forums » Rules

Subject: Support Loss Die roll question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jon Pessano
United States
Tampa
Florida
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
All,

When one has to lose SPs, do you have to choose Battleground Countries first?

This is from the rulebook so it leads me to believe you do but I did not read it anywhere

"EXAMPLE: The Communist has lost the Power Struggle. He rolls
a die for Support Loss, and the result is 1. Because the Democrat
Raised the Stakes, there is a +1 modifier so the modified result is 2.
Checking the Power Struggle Results Table, the Communist must
remove 1 Support. Because Warszawa is a Battleground space, he
removes 1 SP from Bydgoszcz."

Thx,
jonpfl
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Patrick Martin
United States
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The example you cite actually suggests that you do not have to choose battleground countries first.

There isn't any rule about priority for removal, other than that the player who's losing influence gets to do the removal. Presumably you will remove the influence that hurts you the least. This makes over-control and/or controlling additional non-battlegrounds even more useful in case you lose a power struggle and need to remove a few influence.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Bauer
United States
Gilbert
Arizona
flag msg tools
badge
Bazinga!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I think Patrick is right you can remove influence from any city you have influence. The example is giving strategy advise. "Because Warszawa is a Battleground space, he removes 1 SP from Bydgoszcz"(saving his control of Warszawa)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jon Pessano
United States
Tampa
Florida
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
sbauer9 wrote:
I think Patrick is right you can remove influence from any city you have influence. The example is giving strategy advise. "Because Warszawa is a Battleground space, he removes 1 SP from Bydgoszcz"(saving his control of Warszawa)


Whoops, thanks for pointing that out!!

My bad

Thx
jonpfl
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Emile de Maat
Netherlands
Hengelo
Overijssel
flag msg tools
admin
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Moved Thread
Moved this thread from the General forum to the Rules forum.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.