Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Dragon's Gold» Forums » Rules

Subject: When a thief and a wizard work together.. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Inka van Helvoirt
Netherlands
Vlijmen
Noord brabant
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Rules state that when a wizard and a thief work together you allowed to "choose" a treasure from behind a choosen players screen. Now this gives player a great opportunity to figure out what that other player has. So my question is: is the player who uses thief + wizard allowed to take all the time he needs to count and look at the treasure from a victim player? Or does the user of wizard an thief only get that much time to see what colors the victim player has, and then he must choose one..

It just feels a bit unfair when a thief/wizard combo comes behind your screen to check out all that you got.. So we just want to clear that up.


 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Flatt
Canada
Whitecourt
Alberta
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
There is no rule that says they can't take their time and count. If this becomes a problem (and it never has for us), I would suggest a house rule limiting them to one run through of the timer, the same amount of time given to divy up a pot and more than enough time to figure out what you have.
In our experience, it is more important to make sure that the wizard/thief does not compromise the player's position by making some stupid comment like, "Boy, you've got a lot of white!"
Enjoy!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
rock lobster
United States
Kentucky
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb

our group takes it a step further...

Thief/Wizard can take notes and/or cell-phone pics! Making this one of the most powerful tools in the game.

solution? play smarter. negotiate TOUGH with Thief in the mix. negotiate even TOUGHER with a Thief/Wizard in the mix. So much so that your group learns that Thieves and ThievingWizards never prosper--even if the negotiation is auto-sour*.

your group may see this as lunacy... but inform them that it was the Thieving Wizard--alone--that killed the deal. This will foster a fear of anyone playing this powerful combo.

(*auto-sour; the act of flicking the sand-glass on its rear to inform your playgroup that the deal is not only NULL, it's dramatically null and will never be anything more than null.)
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.