Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Dark Minions» Forums » Rules

Subject: Several Questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Kris Ardianto
Indonesia
DKI Jakarta - Jakarta Utara
flag msg tools
badge
https://www.facebook.com/gopopnow
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
My friends and me played 4 players game for the first time and we found that there was a time when we ran out of tower tiles (we separate the unused tower tiles based on the rules (with 4 players, there are only 6 tower in each color). The thing was when the towns listed 3,3,4 tower, and players only had each tile per color, we ran out of grey or white tower. Any chance this case happened before?

And also, the Demonic effect. A player just need to roll a 6,6,6 dice result (no matter what colors or is it specifically in that color)? If a player does so, what's the sign that he has done so, since the bonus was added in the end game. What if he in several turns roll more than one 6,6,6 result? Does he get +3 VP per result?

The black dice, what's the meaning of +1 or +2? Why can't they just listed as 1 and 2? There is no question when attacking towns (since we can only use a single die plus a white as modifier), but when attacking towers, we can use more than 1 die? If that's correct, why the need of + symbol?

Thanks in advance, sorry for the grammar.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alan Newman
United States
Wantagh
New York
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
vardamir wrote:
My friends and me played 4 players game for the first time and we found that there was a time when we ran out of tower tiles (we separate the unused tower tiles based on the rules (with 4 players, there are only 6 tower in each color). The thing was when the towns listed 3,3,4 tower, and players only had each tile per color, we ran out of grey or white tower. Any chance this case happened before?

And also, the Demonic effect. A player just need to roll a 6,6,6 dice result (no matter what colors or is it specifically in that color)? If a player does so, what's the sign that he has done so, since the bonus was added in the end game. What if he in several turns roll more than one 6,6,6 result? Does he get +3 VP per result?

The black dice, what's the meaning of +1 or +2? Why can't they just listed as 1 and 2? There is no question when attacking towns (since we can only use a single die plus a white as modifier), but when attacking towers, we can use more than 1 die? If that's correct, why the need of + symbol?

Thanks in advance, sorry for the grammar.


1) Re Towers, a player may never hold more than 4 or 2 in any color, so the situation you describe is extremely rare. If it occurs, the players who hold 2 Towers - in whatever color is needed - roll the dice according to their Experience level. Lowest roll loses the Tower that is needed for the supply.

2) Re The Demonic, the 6-6-6 may be rolled with any dice. If the card is still held at the end of the game, it is worth 3 VPs (upkeep must still be paid). If you're not sure you'll remember that the player qualified for the bonus, simply turn the card sideways or mark it with a coin. The bonus is only scored ONCE, no matter how many times you roll 6-6-6.

3) Black dice have a +1. The White die has a +2. The plus sign means that the die can be added to any other die. This is a special ability and that's why they are marked with a plus ("+") sign. Any "+" can be added to any other die.

Hope this helps.

Regards,

Alan
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kris Ardianto
Indonesia
DKI Jakarta - Jakarta Utara
flag msg tools
badge
https://www.facebook.com/gopopnow
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Al Newman wrote:
vardamir wrote:
My friends and me played 4 players game for the first time and we found that there was a time when we ran out of tower tiles (we separate the unused tower tiles based on the rules (with 4 players, there are only 6 tower in each color). The thing was when the towns listed 3,3,4 tower, and players only had each tile per color, we ran out of grey or white tower. Any chance this case happened before?

And also, the Demonic effect. A player just need to roll a 6,6,6 dice result (no matter what colors or is it specifically in that color)? If a player does so, what's the sign that he has done so, since the bonus was added in the end game. What if he in several turns roll more than one 6,6,6 result? Does he get +3 VP per result?

The black dice, what's the meaning of +1 or +2? Why can't they just listed as 1 and 2? There is no question when attacking towns (since we can only use a single die plus a white as modifier), but when attacking towers, we can use more than 1 die? If that's correct, why the need of + symbol?

Thanks in advance, sorry for the grammar.


1) Re Towers, a player may never hold more than 4 or 2 in any color, so the situation you describe is extremely rare. If it occurs, the players who hold 2 Towers - in whatever color is needed - roll the dice according to their Experience level. Lowest roll loses the Tower that is needed for the supply.

2) Re The Demonic, the 6-6-6 may be rolled with any dice. If the card is still held at the end of the game, it is worth 3 VPs (upkeep must still be paid). If you're not sure you'll remember that the player qualified for the bonus, simply turn the card sideways or mark it with a coin. The bonus is only scored ONCE, no matter how many times you roll 6-6-6.

3) Black dice have a +1. The White die has a +2. The plus sign means that the die can be added to any other die. This is a special ability and that's why they are marked with a plus ("+") sign. Any "+" can be added to any other die.

Hope this helps.

Regards,

Alan


Thanks for the reply.
So to clarify things, the +1 on black die can be added to attack towns (which the rule stated that it can only be attacked by a single die, this exclude the +1 or +2)? But to attack towers you can use several dice, though the additional die don't have a + symbol?

Oh yeah another question, you say the VP is kept secret, and when a player achieve the total points needed, the last round triggered. If this the case, that player must declare his total VP to other players, which show them his hidden VP. Now that it came to my mind, is this total VP needed is include the bonus VP from skulls (if any) and player's current level?

Thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alan Newman
United States
Wantagh
New York
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
vardamir wrote:

Thanks for the reply.
So to clarify things, the +1 on black die can be added to attack towns (which the rule stated that it can only be attacked by a single die, this exclude the +1 or +2)? But to attack towers you can use several dice, though the additional die don't have a + symbol?

Oh yeah another question, you say the VP is kept secret, and when a player achieve the total points needed, the last round triggered. If this the case, that player must declare his total VP to other players, which show them his hidden VP. Now that it came to my mind, is this total VP needed is include the bonus VP from skulls (if any) and player's current level?

Thanks.


The attack is still considered a single die. You have merely added the +1 (or another +) to that same die.

To attack Towers, the rule is also a single die, although "+" dies may be added (see page 3 of rules top right).

When a player has achieved the total VPs needed, he does not necessarily have to declare the end of the game. If the player declares he has the necessary VPs, the game ends immediately. There is no "last round."

Yes, total VPs includes 1 VP for each Skull token, 1 or 2 VPs for the starting tokens and for the player's Experience level as shown on the player board, plus Town VPs and the other 1 & 2 VP tokens.

Hope this helps.

Regards,

Alan





3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.