Popular Tags: Congrats [+] [View All]
Dave G
United States
Illinois
flag msg tools
badge
El Chupacabratwurst
mbmbmbmbmb
Not really, R, S, or P here but since this is my BGG home I figured I'd share here.

Fourteen years ago I graduated high school and, since I couldn't afford to go to Northwestern and Marquette was in a shitty neighborhood in a shitty city in the second shittiest state* I enrolled at the University of Illinois as an English major. I had every intention then of graduating four years later, coming back to my old high school to coach football and teach English, and living happily ever after in a grown up version of my life to that point. I was a good student, I had a 34 on my ACTs, the university was giving me $2500 a semester just for being Mexican, and I grew up in a school district where something like 80% of the graduates went on to college. It was just what I was supposed to do, and I assumed it would all be as easy as high school had been.

I spent the next five years drinking, smoking, playing video games, watching the Game Show Network, making new friends, battling a serious depression, changing majors four times, trying to learn to play bass guitar, and reading every book I could find except the ones assigned to me. I failed the same Spanish course four times--to be fair, I only attended five class sessions of that course; three of them in the first semester I took it. I was a world-class fuckup, the dictionary definition of wasted potential with the world's worst work ethic.