Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Mage Knight Board Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Tile board shape rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Steven Durst
United States
Tampa
Florida
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I've looked through the rulebook and I just can't figure this one out. In the standard wedge shape that you start with in the walkthrough, solo conquest and others, you start with 1 tile, then go to 2 in a row, then 3 etc. My question is do you have to complete a row before starting the next one? For example below:

x
x x
x x y
z z z z

If the x's are the explored tiles, can I explore any of the "z" open spaces before I explore the open space at "y"? I think I read that city tiles can't be on the coast but besides that, I've been playing in such a way that I just continue down one line and never spread like so:

x
x x
x x
x x

Anybody with a page number or rule explanation would be appreciated, thanks.

Note: My spacing is a little off but for some reason it won't let me put spaces between the x's to better reflect the alignment of the tiles but hopefully you know what I am going for.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dr. snowMan
Canada
Kitchener
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
You do not have to complete a row.

The movement section, 5(e) (p6-rulebook), covers all the rules for placing new tiles. While there are restrictions on both countryside and core tiles, nowhere does it say that you have to complete a row.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
that Matt
United States
Ann Arbor
Michigan
flag msg tools
I'm a quitter. I come from a long line of quitters. It's amazing I'm here at all.
badge
I can feel bits of my brain falling away like wet cake.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Just to clarify, these are your patterns (with the power of [c]fixed width[/c]):


x
x x
x x y
z z z z


x
x x
x x
x x
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ryken C

Illinois
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
You can't expand beyond the basic shape.

Countryside tiles must touch 2 tiles when placed OR touch a tile that touches 2 tiles itself.

Core tiles must touch two tiles when placed.

If you don't meet the above requirements, you can't explore that tile.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jamie Riehl
United States
Eau Claire
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The layouts in the OP would be legal. What you can't do is something like this:


x
x x
x
x

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pawel Bulacz
Poland
Kraków
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
But you can do this:


x
x x
x
x

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steven Durst
United States
Tampa
Florida
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Cool thanks for the answer. I knew about the tile touching rule but it just seemed odd that they would give you a shape to make the board into but I've never really got one built into a full wedge.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
George Pengas
United Kingdom
Romsey
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
camipco wrote:
The layouts in the OP would be legal. What you can't do is something like this:


x
x x
x
x


Why not this? please explain.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Grogan
United Kingdom
Cullompton
Devon
flag msg tools
designer
Check out all my instructional How to Play videos at youtube.com/GamingRulesVideos
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Because a countryside tile can only be placed so that it is adjacent to 2 other tiles, or adjacent to a tile which is itself adjacent to 2 tiles.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Clinton Smith
United States
Port Arthur
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb

nurglis wrote:
camipco wrote:
The layouts in the OP would be legal. What you can't do is something like this:


x
x x
x
x


Why not this? please explain.


Because, as the poster above stated:

Quote:
You can't expand beyond the basic shape.

Countryside tiles must touch 2 tiles when placed OR touch a tile that touches 2 tiles itself.

Core tiles must touch two tiles when placed.

If you don't meet the above requirements, you can't explore that tile.


Edit: Too late, as usual!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.