Subject: a short review for a game we like rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Luigi54
Italy
Milano
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
This is short review on the base game (without optional rules) for people who already watched at least one video about this game and has some hang on it.
I was very interested to play this game and I just had two plays under the belt, but I studied rules, Faq and the forum here on Bgg, so I knew much more than the simples rules and felt enough prepared to play it.
It's a real tug of war, since, at least at the fist stages, there is a move from the Union and a counter-move from the Condeferate and this is going on for some turns.
At your turn you have to follow:
- the dices results producing the orders (6=Leader, 4-5=Move, 2-3=Fire, 1=Card)
- the cards in your hands that can be played during your own turn (Artillery, Retreat…) and even when your opponent is playing! (Friendly fire, Hold…)
- a solid strategy (where to go??)
- the victory conditions wich are, at some extent, quite unusual, like the Rout victory rule!
The difficult thing is to combine all these aspects not only when is your turn but also when is your opponent’s turn and try to make good actions during the game. And even if you do everything perfect… then the combat dices can be against you, because their results are unpredictable and there is a limit of maximum 6 dices per Infantry combat: during Infantry Combat, for every friendly unit you roll 2 dices, but if you have more than 3 units, you just roll a maximum of 6 dices and, at the end of the combat, if there is even one only Infantry unit of the defender still there, the attacker, even if he has many more Infantry units of the defender, must retreat!