Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Thunderstone: Dragonspire» Forums » Rules

Subject: Some doubts rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
p p
United States
p
Mississippi
flag msg tools
Hi! I have some doubts.

1) Can I decide to do not use a spell if I enter the dungeon? (for example a Fire Ball to prevent a monster ability "can't be attacked if a spell is used")
2) Can I decided to do not use a light source? (for example a torch)
3) If I use a Burnt Offering to destroy a card, can I then use a Scout to put the Burnt Offering on the top of the deck?

thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ryan Metzler
United States
Glendale
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
"Are you pondering what I'm pondering Pinky?"
badge
"Wuhhh... I think so, Brain, but if a ham can operate a radio, why can't a pig set a VCR?"
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Saruman wrote:
Hi! I have some doubts.

1) Can I decide to do not use a spell if I enter the dungeon? (for example a Fire Ball to prevent a monster ability "can't be attacked if a spell is used")
2) Can I decided to do not use a light source? (for example a torch)
3) If I use a Burnt Offering to destroy a card, can I then use a Scout to put the Burnt Offering on the top of the deck?

thanks!


1) Absolutely you can.
2) For torches, no. Some weapons and such can be left unused, and will not provide their light, but torches are mandatory.
3) Nope, the glossary entry explicitly forbids it.

EDITED TO REFLECT CORRECT ANSWER FOR #3
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
p p
United States
p
Mississippi
flag msg tools
Ok...But in the rulebook the glossary says:
"Scout: returned cards may not be cards used for an effect"
Can I use a Scout to return a card used for a village ability?
And another question: Can Burnt Offering destroy itself?
Thanks
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ryan Metzler
United States
Glendale
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
"Are you pondering what I'm pondering Pinky?"
badge
"Wuhhh... I think so, Brain, but if a ham can operate a radio, why can't a pig set a VCR?"
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Saruman wrote:
Ok...But in the rulebook the glossary says:
"Scout: returned cards may not be cards used for an effect"
Can I use a Scout to return a card used for a village ability?
And another question: Can Burnt Offering destroy itself?
Thanks


Ahh...well then the rulebook answers your question. A village ability is an effect...thus if you used burnt offering, you cannot return it to the top of your deck.

Also, the glossary for the rulebook explicitly states that the burnt offering being used cannot destroy itself (P.21)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
p p
United States
p
Mississippi
flag msg tools
Mmm ok, the problem is the every card is specific!
For example, Scroll of chaos says "discard a card to SOME EFFECT", can I discard itself? The answer is YES (I have read in a post) but It's the same of Burnt Offering (and the glossary says "it can't destroy itself")....
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ryan Metzler
United States
Glendale
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
"Are you pondering what I'm pondering Pinky?"
badge
"Wuhhh... I think so, Brain, but if a ham can operate a radio, why can't a pig set a VCR?"
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Saruman wrote:
Mmm ok, the problem is the every card is specific!
For example, Scroll of chaos says "discard a card to SOME EFFECT", can I discard itself? The answer is YES (I have read in a post) but It's the same of Burnt Offering (and the glossary says "it can't destroy itself")....


Where did you see this? A card may not destroy or discard itself unless it is explicitly stated that it can.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
p p
United States
p
Mississippi
flag msg tools
It's on your previously post.

(3. answer)

http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/716653/to-anyone-with-re...

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Will M. Baker
United States
Silverton
Oregon
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
Saruman wrote:


Ryan, your previous answer is what I've been going by, that unless otherwise prohibited, a card may discard/destroy itself. E.g. a Sage can destroy itself for 1XP, even though it doesn't say it can.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Orlando Neto
Brazil
Rio das Ostras
Rio de Janeiro
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Banish can destroy it self.
Trainer can discard militia and then be destroyed for gold

And some other cards too.

So confusing. . .
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
p p
United States
p
Mississippi
flag msg tools
The rules aren't clear...
MMM, maybe the best thing is apply the following rules:
1) a card may never discard or destroy itself ( as Burnt Offering specified in glossary)
2) a card may never destroy,discard or return on the top of the deck a card used for another effect (like Scout in the glossary, or according (only for destruction) to the new rules of thunderstone advance)

In my opionion Banish can't destroy itself...it is the same of Burnt Offering...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.